Dual-switch Light Driving Me Nuts - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2010, 06:18 PM   #16
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

dual-switch light driving me nuts


The ballast is probably above that metal plate. How you get to it, I can't say. Can you post a slightly wider shot of the unit.
There are wires on that socket that attach to the ballast.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 06:26 PM   #17
prj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dual-switch light driving me nuts


The wires coming out of the socket go to a junction box next to the hole in the ceiling. Just spoke with the builder's electrical sub and they say there is definitely a transformer behind the junction box. He told me how to get it out and replace it but it's a 13W and he said a new one might be hard to find. He suggested just bypassing the transformer and replacing the can with a newer model with a built in transformer.

How I'm going to do all that through a 6" hole, when I can't really see much in there, is another story.

What an odyssey!
prj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 09:57 PM   #18
prj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dual-switch light driving me nuts


Follow-up:

I was able to by-pass the transformer (cut wires and re-wired inside the junction box) and re-used the existing wiring directly into can, where I replaced the socket shown above with a standard round socket and screw-in 25watt compact fluorescent. Works fine. Cost me $10 for a new can from which I extracted the screw-in socket plate. My local Lowes store had no can fixture with an attached transformer or any replacement transformer like what I removed.

Thanks for all the help.

Advertisement

prj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 52 11-05-2014 05:28 PM
Confused by switch w/indicator light install... WaldenL Electrical 7 08-29-2009 10:02 AM
Tracing light switch to an outlet allanet Electrical 13 04-03-2009 09:44 AM
no power going to the light switch baseballfan Electrical 18 09-08-2008 06:35 PM
Problem changing light switch grgryl Electrical 14 08-10-2008 02:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts