Dual Double Or 1 Double, 2 Singles? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2008, 08:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Dual double or 1 double, 2 singles?




I bought this online because I thought it was a dual double pole breaker (as opposed to 1 double, and 2 singles). They have these at Lowes Home Depot whatever, but those particular ones don't have the outer poles "connected" with that little metal bracket.

The thing is, if you flip 1 of the outer poles, the bracket just gets all sideways, but it doesn't bring the other outer down with it.

Advertisement

pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 08:53 AM   #2
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Dual double or 1 double, 2 singles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by pcampbell View Post
The thing is, if you flip 1 of the outer poles, the bracket just gets all sideways, but it doesn't bring the other outer down with it.
In my opinion, these devices are dangerous because of what you describe (but it doesn't bring the other outer down with it.)

Most high quality multipole circuit breakers are connected together internally OR the bracket that links the switch toggles is such that it prevents "skewing" if an outer toggle is operated. I have no doubt that this circuit breaker is cheaper than a "proper" circuit breaker with the same number of poles.

Advertisement

__________________
Switchboard design engineer & Licensed Electrician (Australia).

Last edited by elkangorito; 03-25-2008 at 08:57 AM.
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 10:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Dual double or 1 double, 2 singles?


Could it be that the handle between the two outer poles is intended only as a convenience to disconnect both circuits simultaneously, but not to trip together?
I've never seen a breaker like this, and personally, I don't like it.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 10:56 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dual double or 1 double, 2 singles?


More proper word for that breaker is it called Quad i do see few of them IMO they are so-so shape but you should check the breaker box to verify the manufacter to see if they can take this type of breaker.

the outer two you have to use the common tiebar to push in or trip them off and inner two is common tiebar as well.

with the quad breakers you have to make sure the outer poles is set right sometime one will click on and other not fully on so watch that one.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 10:59 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Dual double or 1 double, 2 singles?


Oh well. I wish I had realized that they don't actually work as intended because I bought them online and paid a few bucks more for them. I'll just use the outers as singles.
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 11:03 AM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,550
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Dual double or 1 double, 2 singles?


The quad breaker you have pictured features two 240V common trip breakers that occupy only two spaces in a panel. The common trip function is internal and does not depend on the handle ties, they are there so you have to manually turn both handles off at the same time.

While I don't encourage the use of such breakers, they have their applications. Also note that they are CTL devices, meaning they will only fit in panels that allow tandem style breakers. I have seem many that were incorrectly installed, either only partially connecting with the bus bars, or "modified" to fit, both cases leading to breaker failure.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 11:12 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Dual double or 1 double, 2 singles?


The panel I have is an older Murray with 12 1" spots which is advertised as taking 24 total circuits so I am assuming the tandems will fit. The previous owner has a few in there already and some are marked CTL. Will it be obvious if it fits correctly or incorrectly?
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 11:55 AM   #8
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,550
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Dual double or 1 double, 2 singles?


Yes, it will be obvious, and it should fit that panel.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 10:34 PM
Laundry tub - do I need a double? Corcoran1 Plumbing 5 03-22-2008 09:37 PM
Dual sensor Dual head motion light? sandyman720 Electrical 1 09-26-2007 07:40 PM
Is this a double vapour barrier or not? KUIPORNG Remodeling 11 09-29-2006 11:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts