DSL Slow Inside House - Wiring Options - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2008, 11:54 PM   #16
HomeOwner Remodel
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10

I would have to agree with what others have posted here. It's a much changed world from 1969 and it looks like somehow the telco passed you by. My demarcation box has a connection just like a normal phone connection inside it - disconnect it and you disconnect service to the whole house or if you plug something into it you are really testing what service is provided at the point of entry which would easily tell you whether your inside wiring was bad.

Have Verizon bring you into the 21st century and if theY hymm or haw about it, try and slip in something about Comcast or ClearWire. Whenever I want exceptional customer service from a utility style company (that's not a monopoly) I always call customer service and try to cancel my service. Soon, whatever wish I have asked for has been granted!


stevedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 02:31 PM   #17
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652

Easy fix, run a single Cat-3 from the Demarc/NID on the outside of the house to the DSL modem, and from there either connect it via Cat-5e jumper to the computer, or connect to a Router that allows for WiFi. For more info, see http://www.dslreports.com/faq/10443
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 02:32 PM   #18
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652

The filter port marked Data, is nothing more then a Pass-through RJ-11. The voice is the side that is Filtered.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 03:15 PM   #19
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oak Park, IL.
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 168

Same Here

I run VOIP over AT&T DSL. I am supposed to get around 3.0mp down but what happens is my QOS drops to 4% which breaks up video and VOIP. When they lower the speed to 1.609 dwn my QOS goes up to 99%, perfect.

The throughput at the higher speed goes down and wrecks my dsl signal.

When AT&T tests they say I have full speed up to my NIC/box outside the house. Probably I am getting hosed by my old 4 wire copper run throigh the house... very old house..130yrs+....

Tech advised doing this set up...

They suggested a POTS/DSL splitter (Corning makes one for external for $9.00 on X-Bay.) which is next on my list with a CAT-5 run direct to the modem...



roztom is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
Aluminum-wired house, questions LMH Electrical 2 05-24-2009 03:06 AM
Wiring stove outlet in old house electric-pete Electrical 23 07-06-2008 03:02 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
Cost of replacing old knob ant tube wiring in house bikerboy337 Electrical 3 03-26-2005 08:50 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1