Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2010, 08:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ky.
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Drywall damage necessary when fishing wire?


I've got mostly AL wire in my house. I was getting ready to start a project of slowly replacing the existing circuits with new copper wiring. I'm starting to wonder, though, if I've missed something during my research.

I had an electrician out today to look at a problem with a breaker that was tripping. We started talking about the AL and I told him my plans, and he said that what I wanted to do wasn't possible without stripping the house down to the studs. While he was recommending a CopAlum repair at the time, so I took it with a grain of salt, I've actually read some similar thoughts on here and another forum over the past couple of days.

I've only got a main floor and basement and have access to my entire living area from above, below, or directly, I had assumed that it wouldn't be much more involved than cutting back the AL, replacing the boxes with 22 cu old work boxes and fishing the copper either up or down.

Not that I assumed that would be trivial or necessarily easy, I realize there are plenty of issues fishing wire... fireblocks, pipes, etc, but I did assume it could be completed without massive amounts of drywall damage.

Just wondering if I've overlooked something during my planning and research process that I need to take into account?

Thanks,

Mike

tigereye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 09:03 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drywall damage necessary when fishing wire?


no if you have access it can be done. Faster with drywall holes as needed but not required in most cases. Long flexible drill bits are available to get through the blocking. But you electrician is also correct. only issue with AL was at the connections. splicing to copper with the correct splices will resolve you issues for much less work and cost.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 09:14 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drywall damage necessary when fishing wire?


To use the CopAlum compression connectiors this item is not a typical DIY project due there is a specail producure to deal with this and also need properly calbarated crimper to work with this.


Now let get to the main point at the moment senice you mention alum branch conductors so I am pretty sure this house is builded in early 70's or late 60's era and yeah expect some firestop along the way I doubt you will find firestop in intetior wall but yeah exterail wall you will expect to find it and they are typically at about 4 feet AFF { above finish floor level } to combat this we use very long fexibale drill bit it called Diverson bit or simuir and you should able find this in big box store in electrical section.

you may have to open couple spot of drywall but not a whole alot something like 4 by 4 square or simuair size nothing more bigger than it need to be.

Oh yeah typically most Alum cable or conductor are upsized over copper verison so if you see 4.0mm˛ { #12 AWG } alum it will mean it will match the same as 2.5mm˛ {#14 AWG } copper ditto with 6.0mm˛ { #10 AWG } size

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 09:23 PM   #4
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drywall damage necessary when fishing wire?


If you have access from above and below I think your house can be done with minimal drywall damage. It will go way easier if you have a helper to help pulling the wire. Also, you might want to open the wall around your panel to more easily get the homeruns in.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Wire Thermostat question vtec69 Electrical 19 10-19-2009 05:14 PM
How do I wire these switches? keano016 Electrical 2 10-07-2009 10:19 AM
Outlet With Swith and Older (White, Black, Red) Wire CaptChaos Electrical 18 09-14-2009 11:17 PM
Is using a ground wire as neutral wire safe? Head Fred Electrical 9 12-18-2008 02:37 PM
Fishing a wire around blocking? rjniles Electrical 10 12-16-2008 10:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.