Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2008, 04:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Dryer Recepticle Issue.. LOST!


Okay, I live in an older house. I know that there was some severe handiman work done in here.. But here is my great question of confusion....

I have replaced the old 3 prong dry plug with a new 4 prong 220 recepticle.... When I test the wires coming into the plug, there is 120 on both legs to the nuetral...

When I attempt to start the dryer with a load of clothes in it...The dryer doesn't want to start. When I test the connections of the new recepticle under load of attempting to start the dryer, one leg drops to nothings on the meter and the other leg of reads 240.... I am lost...

This one is getting really frustrating.. I hope someone has a good idea..

Lost in Washington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 04:16 AM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Dryer Recepticle Issue.. LOST!


The neutral is open somewhere. Start at the receptacle. Make sure the wire is under the lug properly. Also, make sure the wire isn't broken where it enters the box. Then move on to the fuse or breaker panel and tighten the neutral there.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 05:41 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

Dryer Recepticle Issue.. LOST!


WHY did you change it in the first place?
Were there four wire in the box?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 10:40 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,877
Default

Dryer Recepticle Issue.. LOST!


As Speedy said did you have 4 wires to connect the new 4 wire dryer receptacle??
If the existing dryer was connected via a 3 prong plug you likely only have a 3 wire supply to the dryer receptacle box.
I'm assuming you are trying to connect a new dryer that has a 4 prong dryer cord??
You can't do this properly without a 4 wire supply to the receptacle.

We need some details

1.) Does your supply wiring to the dryer have 4 wires H-H-Neutral and bare ground??? Or is it 3 wires H-H-bare neutral. Describe what you have.

2.) Are you installing a new or used Dryer and this prompted you to change receptacles??
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer Pony Problem. Hobb3s Electrical 17 09-30-2008 08:16 PM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 10:45 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Location of 220 and 110 outlets for dryer and washer JAJJ Electrical 2 08-07-2006 09:16 PM
Replace old dryer recepticle Christo Electrical 1 01-26-2006 06:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.