Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 08:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dryer Plug - where is the ground?


Just bought a new Maytag 5000 dryer and changed the old 220 dryer plug, just to a newer one.


Thing is, I have 3 wires existing...white,black and red...there isn't a bare wire or ground wire.

Do I need to update the wiring from this plug to the breaker?


Thanks!

hellothere123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:08 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,048
Rewards Points: 2,066
Default

Dryer Plug - where is the ground?


Current electrical codes require 4 wires from breaker to receptacle (14-30P).

However you are allowed to use an existing 3 wire branch circuit. In your case you have three insulated wires (2 hots and one neutral). So you need to keep the 3 wire receptacle and change the dryer to a 3 wire dryer power cord. In this type circuit the dryer frame must be bonded to the neutral of the 3 wire power cord and branch circuit. They usually do this with a green wire or metal strap at the neutral terminal of the dryer and connect to the frame.
Your instructions should show how to do this 3 wire conversion. It should also show how to do 4 wire conversion.

If it is easy access it would be better to update the branch circuit to 4 wires and remove the bond wire/strap to the dryer frame. The green wire of the power cord will then just connect under the green screw of the dryer frame and usually marked ground.

A typical 4 wire dryer circuit is 10/3 with ground copper wire on a 30 amp double pole breaker.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-10-2010 at 09:11 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
hellothere123 (09-10-2010)
Old 09-10-2010, 09:23 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,048
Rewards Points: 2,066
Default

Dryer Plug - where is the ground?


I just noticed you are in Canada so I'm not sure if USA code would be the same.

I eliminated the possibility of metal conduit acting as your ground because you said the other dryer had a 3 wire power cord.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 11:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dryer Plug - where is the ground?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Current electrical codes require 4 wires from breaker to receptacle (14-30P).

However you are allowed to use an existing 3 wire branch circuit. In your case you have three insulated wires (2 hots and one neutral). So you need to keep the 3 wire receptacle and change the dryer to a 3 wire dryer power cord. In this type circuit the dryer frame must be bonded to the neutral of the 3 wire power cord and branch circuit. They usually do this with a green wire or metal strap at the neutral terminal of the dryer and connect to the frame.
Your instructions should show how to do this 3 wire conversion. It should also show how to do 4 wire conversion.

If it is easy access it would be better to update the branch circuit to 4 wires and remove the bond wire/strap to the dryer frame. The green wire of the power cord will then just connect under the green screw of the dryer frame and usually marked ground.

A typical 4 wire dryer circuit is 10/3 with ground copper wire on a 30 amp double pole breaker.
I'll have to check our code.

So either I update the wiring, or replace the dryer cord and convert it to the 3 wire instead of the 4.

I plugged the dryer into the existing outlet and everything seemed to work ok...can I use it as is until I get it updated? Is this update more of a precaution so that the dryer and the 220v is properly grounded?

Thanks!
hellothere123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 08:18 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Dryer Plug - where is the ground?


As you have found out, the dryer will work but just so you are aware of it, your dryer case isn't grounded.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 08:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dryer Plug - where is the ground?


I talked to electrical who will coe replace the line so that it includes a ground...but until he can get here, he said to run a ground wire from a copper pipe to the dryer...just so it is touching the metal on the dryer.
hellothere123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:48 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,921
Rewards Points: 2,636
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Dryer Plug - where is the ground?


It needs to be fastend to the dryer under screw.

And just for our USA friends. Running ground from a nearbty water line is a permitted grounding method in Canada.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:29 AM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,048
Rewards Points: 2,066
Default

Dryer Plug - where is the ground?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
It needs to be fastend to the dryer under screw.

And just for our USA friends. Running ground from a nearbty water line is a permitted grounding method in Canada.
I thought you could do that in Canada, in the USA they seem worried about plastic repairs in the metal water lines interrupting the ground fault path.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug dgbunk Electrical 9 10-19-2010 01:07 PM
Microwave ground prong sparks/melts upon plugging it in microwaveman Electrical 30 05-10-2009 10:30 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 03:26 PM
Temporary Genrator Ground theatretch85 Electrical 32 08-05-2008 12:05 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.