Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2009, 12:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


I currently have a 50 amp outlet on 8-3 wire. I know this is for a range. The problem is it is where my dryer is suppose to go. Can I remove the range outlet and connect the 30 amp dryer outlet to the same wire? Or do I have to run new 10-3 wire and replace the 50 amp breaker with a 30 amp?

Thanks

cindakay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 01:33 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


Yes you can

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 01:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


You can use the same wire
I'm just not sure if you can leave the 50a breaker for a 30a appliance
I would think not?

OOps - missed that - you are installing a 30a breaker

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 04-11-2009 at 02:56 PM.
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 02:44 PM   #4
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


No he said he was replacing the 50 for a 30
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 05:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


50 on 8 is wrong anyways.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 77
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
50 on 8 is wrong anyways.
...say what?
unclduey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:11 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by unclduey View Post
...say what?

A 50 amp overcurrent device can not protect 8 awg wire if in the 60c table.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 08:53 AM   #8
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


You can use the existing 8/3 wiring with a new 30A dryer receptacle if you also change the breaker to a 30A. You can always use a breaker rated less than the rating of the circuit it's protecting.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:00 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Yes you can

Wow!!
All these posts when dSilanskas made it quite clear with the first one.
I think you guys want to read what your saying.
DIY is confusing even to experienced mechanics let alone DIYers.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:04 AM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,990
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


Unfortunately "Yes you can" wasn't the correct response to the questions asked.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:21 AM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
Wow!!
All these posts when dSilanskas made it quite clear with the first one.
I think you guys want to read what your saying.
DIY is confusing even to experienced mechanics let alone DIYers.
I really think you may want to follow sentence #2 in your own advice. As stubbie posted, "yes you can" is not the answer, especially considering there were several questions in the first post.

so, quit being an INsultini and get with the program.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Unfortunately "Yes you can" wasn't the correct response to the questions asked.
Nice answer STUBBY.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:53 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I really think you may want to follow sentence #2 in your own advice. As stubbie posted, "yes you can" is not the answer, especially considering there were several questions in the first post.

so, quit being an INsultini and get with the program.
I re read my reply didn't really see an insult.
By the way nap the name you used for me, has been used for 40 years now you ain't gitin no Cherry wise guy.
And how do you know I ain't wiyth the program????????????

PS I gott spelll chek but it's not worth using for yo.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 04:20 PM   #14
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,990
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
I re read my reply didn't really see an insult.
By the way nap the name you used for me, has been used for 40 years now you ain't gitin no Cherry wise guy.
And how do you know I ain't wiyth the program????????????

PS I gott spelll chek but it's not worth using for yo.
Why on earth would you let people call you that for 40 years?

The response by dsilanskas failed to address the questions to confirm code compliance. Had Cindy replied we could have reached that with a few more questions. You seem to approve of the answer given in post 2....why?

Quote:
Or do I have to run new 10-3 wire and replace the 50 amp breaker with a 30 amp?
If I answered that question with "yes you can" it would be incorrect. A new cable would require 10/3 with ground...4 wires.... this would be the preferred method if possible. If Cindy keeps the 8/3 (no ground) it must be an SE cable or a cable with an insulated neutral.... we haven't determined that yet. And Cindy needs to know about the no bonding requirement at the terminal block of the dryer if she changes to 4 wires. So I am baffled at why you would think that "yes you can" should have been the end to this thread???

BTW I have an extreme dislike for internet policeman who come in on a thread for no other reason that to make an attempt put themselves on a pedestal and judge the others who are trying to ask the right questions. You offered nothing to this thread but an insulting statement. So don't walk a mile out of your way to try to hide why they have called you by that nickname for 40 years.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 04-12-2009 at 04:25 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 04:25 PM   #15
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet


the INsultini just fit so well though even though it was not necessarily on point, then, but due to this:

Quote:
PS I gott spelll chek but it's not worth using for yo.
it fits.


All I was saying is you were chastising others for what they posted yet you referred to a post that most definitely did not provide a proper answer. There are some pretty bright bulbs (I guess that should be lamps in light (easy pun) of the NEC usage of terms) around here. We tend to be a somewhat self correcting forum due to that and the general relationship and interactions of the members.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
30 amp, dryer, outlet


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace Range Outlet Suncrest79 Electrical 22 04-14-2009 11:32 PM
Dryer outlet Davide Electrical 3 02-25-2009 11:48 AM
Range outlet pushes oven too far from wall givemeabreak Electrical 8 08-19-2008 12:14 AM
changing a range outlet or plug marty7 Electrical 9 12-17-2007 10:11 PM
Clothes Dryer / Outlet homercavazos Electrical 8 10-30-2007 04:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.