Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2009, 09:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Unhappy

Dryer outlet


I am expecting delivery of a new LG washer and dryer. My old dryer was connected to an old 3 prong outlet 30 amp. I decided to update the outlet to a new 30amp 4 prong grounded outlet. I know which prongs to connect the white neutral and ground wires. Does it matter which of the two outside prongs the black and red hot wires are connected to? Thanks and help...

Davide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:38 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Dryer outlet


No, it does not.

You do have four individual wires, correct?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:48 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

Dryer outlet


As Speedy asks... it sounds like you are saying you updated the receptacle but you also gotta update the wiring from the circuit breaker panel to the new receptacle with 4 wires (H-H-N-Grd)
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 11:48 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Dryer outlet


Thank you much Speedy Petey and Stubbie. Yes, I am replacing an older 3 prong outlet that was there when I bought my house with a new 4 prong grounded outlet. The cable from the electric panel already has white, black, red and ground wires (H/H/N/G). When I opened the recepticle I found that the ground wire was never connected to anything previously and that's why I thought it best to update and replace the old one. Thanks again for your help!
Davide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing dryer outlet in laundry room ManMythLegend Electrical 11 07-13-2008 10:36 AM
grounding dryer outlet amakarevic Electrical 4 07-05-2008 09:05 AM
Running AC off of a Dryer Outlet TheCrow Electrical 7 06-16-2008 07:11 PM
Dryer outlet adjacent to laundry/utility sink bjstewa Electrical 5 02-12-2008 08:10 PM
Clothes Dryer / Outlet homercavazos Electrical 8 10-30-2007 04:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.