Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2008, 03:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 45
Share |
Default

Dryer outlet


I now have a 3-pole 240v flush mounted outlet with only 3wires in the plastic box, no ground. The new dryer is already wired with a 4-prong cord. The 4-prong otlet I bought has a connection for ground. What to do?

stan 41943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 04:36 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

Dryer outlet


Replace the 4-wire cord with a 3-wire cord and plug it in.

The receptacle/circuit determines what cord you use, NOT the other way around.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 04:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 45
Default

Dryer outlet


Other threads I have found described changing from 4-wire to three requires modifying the grounding in the dryer,when 3-wire is used. Could I run a ground wire into my outlet box & attach it to a copper pipe & keep the 4-wire plug? They will be delivering the units tomorrow & installing them in a small space(I'll be at work). I'm hoping to do what's needed tonight so the "muscle guys" can hook it up, the wife can use it, & when I get home I can reap the rewards of wife's gratitude.
stan 41943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 05:58 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

Dryer outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stan 41943 View Post
Other threads I have found described changing from 4-wire to three requires modifying the grounding in the dryer,when 3-wire is used. Could I run a ground wire into my outlet box & attach it to a copper pipe & keep the 4-wire plug?
ABSOLUTELY NOT. A "copper pipe" DOES NOT proved a safe and adequate ground 99.9% of the time.

To use a 4-wire receptacle you must run a new cable with a dedicated ground wire. 10/3NM is typical.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 05-19-2008 at 06:01 PM.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 06:00 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

Dryer outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joba Fett View Post
That statement is ridiculous.
Yeah, like you would know.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 06:08 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

Dryer outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
ABSOLUTELY NOT. A "copper pipe" DOES NOT proved a safe and adequate ground 99.9% of the time.

To use a 4-wire receptacle you must run a new cable with a dedicated ground wire. 10/3NM is typical.
This is of course assuming the existing cable is not already 10/3w/g.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 07:00 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Dryer outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joba Fett View Post
That statement is ridiculous.
Install a 4 wire cable (HHNG) to serve this dryer.

The OP already stated he had a three wire receptacle, with no ground. So three wire cord it is.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 07:38 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Dryer outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joba Fett View Post
That statement is ridiculous.
Install a 4 wire cable (HHNG) to serve this dryer.
HHNG? What's wrong with NM? I've never installed any HHNG cable.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 08:01 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

Dryer outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joba Fett View Post
And the OP stated he had a 4 wire cord which came on his dryer.....learn how to read.
No kidding. I read that.
What does it have to do with the circuit that is existing or run?????

THE CORD IS NOT the determining factor!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 08:37 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Dryer outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joba Fett View Post
To help this DIY, I used a laymens' convention HHNG (hot-hot-neutral-ground) you learn as you learn. If you looked closely, I SAID 4 wire cable, and tried to help this DIY.

And I sure do know his initial post was ridiculous.

And the OP stated he had a 4 wire cord which came on his dryer.....learn how to read.
I beleive people are starting to bulls*&T with you. I beleive he figured out HHGN, it does say he is an licensed electrician.

I have never seen it written on any print or ever heard anyone say HHGN. All you have to say is the dryer is 120/240V 30A and if you can't figure out that you need 10/3 then you should hire someone to do the work.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 08:44 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

Dryer outlet


Jeeze. Go back and look at JR's post.

Do you know what this " " is???

Of course he was messing with fett.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 04:08 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 45
Default

Dryer outlet


Thanks guys. I replaced the 10/2 with 10/3/g and 4 wire recepticle from the panel.
stan 41943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 05:35 AM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Dryer outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stan 41943 View Post
Thanks guys. I replaced the 10/2 with 10/3/g and 4 wire recepticle from the panel.


chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer outlet adjacent to laundry/utility sink bjstewa Electrical 5 02-12-2008 08:10 PM
wiring outlet for electric dryer TSMO Electrical 7 11-26-2007 09:51 PM
Clothes Dryer / Outlet homercavazos Electrical 8 10-30-2007 04:14 PM
outlet for a dryer econdave Electrical 16 08-16-2007 05:47 AM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.