Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2011, 12:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer hookup question


Hello, so i started out with a 3 prong straight plug pictured below that was stamped as a 50a-125/250V.


My dryer had the L shaped prong so i purchased a new one pictured below. I wasn't 100% sure if there was anything else i needed to do since this was listed as a 30A-125/250V vs the original 50A. Being probably somewhat stupid... i just hooked it up and cautiously turned it on to see what happened... well, nothing blew up or sparked or caught fire so i thought we were good. Unfortunately the dryer's ability to heat the air gave out about 3 or 4 days later after only a couple loads... After attempting and failing to fix it we just picked up a used one. However, i want to make sure that what i did originally wasn't the cause of the dryer dying in the first place! Any help is greatly appreciated.

epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 12:13 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Dryer hookup question


I don't think what you did was the cause of the dryer failure. However you do need to make sure that the breaker for this circuit is 30 amps and not the 50 amps the previous receptacle was rated at.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer hookup question


I didn't think so... Yeah, i should have posted this along with everything else... This box is right above the outlet. Sorry these are all sideways. This is the other reason i figured i was good to go since it matched the new outlet...

Last edited by epsilon; 05-09-2011 at 01:18 PM.
epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 07:28 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer hookup question


so, funny story... i opened up that box and guess what i found... fuses! one of which was blown... so chances are there was nothing wrong with the stupid dryer all this time. Well, at least not what i thought anyway. /sigh
epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:28 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dryer hookup question


At least now you know where to look the next time and stock a set of spare fuse that one you have it useally come either plug or cartage fuse { tube fuse type }

When you replace the fuse be extra carefull due some part is still alive so just don't stick your finger in wrong spot.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:13 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Dryer hookup question


Quote:
Originally Posted by epsilon View Post
so, funny story... i opened up that box and guess what i found... fuses! one of which was blown... so chances are there was nothing wrong with the stupid dryer all this time. Well, at least not what i thought anyway. /sigh
More likely there was something wrong, which caused the fuse to blow. Most likely the heating element burned out and one half of it shorted to ground. When you replace those fuses, replace them with 30A fuses to match the new receptacle you installed.

In the future, just replace the cord on the appliance instead of the receptacle. That's the normal way to deal with a mismatch.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-plumbing a washer hookup and drain question troyman75 Plumbing 3 02-24-2011 09:21 PM
Removed basement stairs - put in floor for washer and dryer capslock Flooring 3 10-09-2010 02:15 PM
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 08:21 PM
dryer question cawlady Electrical 4 11-19-2009 07:23 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.