Dryer Hook-up In Apartment? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 03:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


We recently moved and have a stackable washer/dryer that runs off 220v. The new place has no 220 plug for the washer/dyer and we cannot have one installed so I have developed a way to do it that I believe would be safe.

Using a new pigtail from a stove I want to wire that into a junction box with a 4 wire 3 way 220v 40a switch. Out of the junction box on one side will use 8/3 wire to a stove outlet in a proper junction box since the stove is rated at 40 amp. On the other side with 10/3 wire use a 30 amp breaker box since the dyer is a 30 amp appliance. From the breaker box use 10/3 wire to a dryer outlet in a proper junction box. This will plug into the existing stove outlet for the source power and now would supply outlets for both the dryer & stove. But with the 3 way switch neither would be on at the same time.

From the source and 3-way switch

-> off
-> (8/3) stove outlet
-> (10/3) 30a breaker -> (10/3) dryer outlet

My question is does this sound like it would work safely? If so where can I find a 3-way switch like I mentioned?

Thanks for your help.

cheers,
Dan

Advertisement


Last edited by dan2x38; 05-02-2011 at 03:23 PM.
dan2x38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 05:20 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


work/ from what I can see, yes

safe/ questionable

legal or acceptable/ not a chance


I'm trying to imagine what kind of switch you could even use for this. I can't come up with one that is actually made.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 05:24 PM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


fused disconnect? nap?
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 05:43 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


Why don't you get some 8/3 SJOW, put a stove plug on one end and put a small subpanel on the other end. Wire in a 2P30A with 10/3 to a dryer plug and a single pole 15A for the dryer. I can't see the 40A breaker tripping even if you had both the washer and dryer on. Skip the switch and just plug in the subpanel when needed.

Would this be considered legal in the US Nap.

Also if you have no hook up for a dryer plug i doubt if there is a hook up for a dryer vent. I'm sure you don't want that blowing all over your apartment.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 05:45 PM   #5
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


so cord is not to be used in place of structure wiring. I think thats in a code section some where.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 05:46 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post
fused disconnect? nap?


400.8 Uses not permitted (flexible cord)

(1) as a substitute for the fixed wiring of a structure (i.e. cannot be used as a permanent installation)

there are other restrictions that could apply as well but basically, OP is using this as a permanent installation which is not allowed.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 06:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,721
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


What about putting a plug and socket on the stove hook up,
Then you just unplug the stove and plug in the dryer ?
You should check if it is legal in your area.
But it would solve most of the probs,
If it is legal.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:03 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


Thing is I can't plug and unplug the dryer. I had this setup before b/c we could reach where the stove was plugged in. I had a stove pigtail with a junction box wired with a dryer outlet on the end. Plug the dryer into the outlet unplug stove plug in the pigtail presto it worked great. Now there is no room to reach it easily.

As for the dryer vent that is no issue in runs out the window but before we use to use a nylon over the vent hose to collect the lint it worked great.

This is not a permanent structure.

I researched 3 position Cam Burner Switches rated for 40 amps but can't find out where to buy one. As for the dryer on the 40 amp line of the stove isn't that an issue? Someone suggested it would be that is why I was thinking of including the 30 amp box for the dryer.

I had this setup with a stove pigtail with a junction box and out of it one side the stove outlet the other the dryer. I told the wife not to put both on the same time but she did in the first 2 weeks blowing the fusse in the box so the landlord had to be called we do not have the box in our unit. This is the purpose of the switch. It would be either one or the other never both.

You guys mentioned s few things but I am a novice to electrical so it means little to me? I need things in layman terms to understand please if you can help. We really want to use our dryer and washer but need the safest solution. I know if it is done right it will be safe or I wouldn't do it.

thanks,
Dan
dan2x38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:11 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dan2x38 View Post
I need things in layman terms to understand please if you can help.
from everything I see, it is illegal and I cannot find a way to make it legal.


and if I was your LL and saw that contraption, you would be out in a heartbeat.


btw: the reason you had to use a smaller fusing (the 30 amp) is because you listed #10 wire from the disco to the dryer. You cannot use a breaker/fuse larger than 30 amps with wire that size.

Quote:
This is not a permanent structure.
it is in contrast to the section I posted previously:

Quote:
400.8 Uses not permitted (flexible cord)

(1) as a substitute for the fixed wiring of a structure (i.e. cannot be used as a permanent installation)
Then, on top of that, do you have the washer dryer setting next to your oven? If not, are you just running the extension cord across the floor?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:12 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


This is the switch I was looking at is it usable in my case? Anyone know of this type of switch and if they are available in Ontario? I am referring to the 40 amp model.

http://sunbrite.stores.yahoo.net/krnacamsw121.html

thx,
Dan
dan2x38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:14 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


They are side by side the that is the issue we can't plug or unplug the stove.
dan2x38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:22 PM   #12
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dan2x38 View Post
This is the switch I was looking at is it usable in my case? Anyone know of this type of switch and if they are available in Ontario? I am referring to the 40 amp model.

http://sunbrite.stores.yahoo.net/krnacamsw121.html

thx,
Dan
Nothing I see there that would work unless I am mistaken. The only 3 position switches list "off-pump-burner"

what that actually means is:

"off- pump- pump and burner" if I'm not mistaken.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:24 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


are you in Ontario dan? The info I was giving was for the US. While there are a lot of similarities in the US and Canadian electrical codes but there are enough differences so that you cannot depend on one being a replacement for the other.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:29 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,721
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


Whilst a lot of what you propose on a practicule level will work,
I think most electricains would be hesitant about this type of set up,
Mainly because it is not considered best practise.
Because electricains are ultimately liable for there
work should anything go wrong.
A 30a dryer on a 40a circuit might require a 30 fuse/breaker
for maximum safety.
What will the landlord say about these electrical modifications ?
What do the local electrical regulations allow ?
Please consider all these things before you go ahead !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:30 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer Hook-up in Apartment?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
are you in Ontario dan? The info I was giving was for the US. While there are a lot of similarities in the US and Canadian electrical codes but there are enough differences so that you cannot depend on one being a replacement for the other.
Yes in Ont. The switch as I under means OFF - Burner On (pump off) - Pump on (burner off). Wouldn't this type of switch work to select either my stove outlet or dryer outlet?

I totally realize this is not a code setup. But I know if done with proper components and wiring it would be safe 100%. How couldn't be? All that aside I need to know the how to and the safest possible.

thx,
Dan

Advertisement

dan2x38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Dryer not turning on c.abrams Electrical 3 01-09-2011 07:18 PM
3 prong electric dryer hook up LMJ Electrical 14 08-19-2010 12:34 AM
Problems with Whirlpool Dryer Hookup! Help! maryrgrimm Appliances 1 04-07-2010 08:42 AM
Dryer exhaust duct not connected inside dryer frankrizzo Appliances 4 02-09-2010 09:47 PM
Dryer vent ponch37300 General DIY Discussions 10 01-21-2009 05:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts