DRYER HELP Or Bigger Problem? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-03-2012, 11:02 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

DRYER HELP or Bigger Problem?

I'm new to this site. But would appreciate some troubleshooting. I just renovated my kitchen, gutted and all, finished in the Fall. I did not replace wiring to the dryer, nor tamper with it, to my knowledge. We did have an electrician add a small fuse panel. We did not add more appliances then before, added some lights, but mostly used the room to separate things out. Had a mentor do the wiring, many years of experience, very tidy and careful work, though not electrician by trade. We have a standard 200 amp box as far as i know. The house is 100 years old, but the wiring isn't.

In October my mother in law heard a very loud bang. The electric dryer had been running. She smelled smoke. At the dryer receptacle was molten plastic sprayed onto the wall, caused by overheating at that point, due to I don't know what. I thought maybe I had knocked something loose in the receptacle when i was drywalling around it. I can't remember now if the breaker had tripped. The receptacle and plug were toast.

I replaced the receptacle, I replaced the dryer cord, not the breaker. The dryer worked fine until february, when it stopped heating. I found a bad thermal fuse and replaced it, the very common two pronged white one.