Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2007, 09:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Hey guys, new to the forum but looks awesome.
My proble is as follows. Just moved into a new home (actually a 100 year old building) All Electrical has been recently updated however. I brought with me my washer dryer combination which runs off a 3 prong 220 cable and luckily there was already one installed. I tried plugging the dryer in and for some reason it seems like its not getting enough power. i ran a 2 wire tester at the outlet as well as at the terminals attached to the dryer and they both read 220. is it most likely something wrong with the dryer or could it be something with the wiring?? im no sure but i think they ran the 220 using !4 gauge wiring. even though it still reads 220 at the outlet could that be something that affects the dryer?? any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks

cisco10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 10:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Your information is really contradictory.
Even if the recepatcle was only 115v servicing a laundry area ... it would be #12 Cu by code.
Please have a knowledgeable person provide new information.

JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 10:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Wow.. seriously?
What part of that was contradictory?
First of all where did you even get that the receptacle was 115? i stated it was a 220 dryer receptacle with 3 prongs and secondly how do you assume that all electrical work is done to code?. There appears to be 14 gauge wiring coming out of the 220 30 amp breaker which i will replace with 10/3 but for the time being it still reading at 220 at the outlet so i was asking if that would affect teh dryer. Next time have a more knowledgable person read my posts...
cisco10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 12:02 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Hello cisco

A three prong dryer receptacle is a nema 10-30R it looks like this....



Look right to you? the terminal marked w is the neutral the two diagonal (Y & X) slots are the hots. You should have 240 volts between y & x and 120 volts from X to W and Y to W

Is that what you are getting?

You can test for voltage with the 14 awg but it won't get it when operating the dryer. This is a real fire hazard if on a 30 amp breaker.

stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-30-2007 at 11:30 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 12:11 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


hey stubbie. yes that is exactly what i am getting. I took the receptacle apart just to double check the wiring and it does look like 14 gauge copper wiring. Although that would need to be replaced that wouldnt be whats making the dryer act funky right?
I also checked the voltage at the terminals behind the dryer itself and it showed 220.

Last edited by cisco10; 08-30-2007 at 12:13 AM.
cisco10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 12:17 AM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


What exactly is the dryer doing? It is not wise to run that dryer on the 14 awg... if it is 14 awg... on a 30 amp breaker your going to have a fire. Too much resistance to the current flow demands of the dryer, it will not work properly. I suggest you get the 10/3 then see what happens.


What about the washer...does it work ok?

stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 12:34 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
What exactly is the dryer doing? It is not wise to run that dryer on the 14 awg... if it is 14 awg... on a 30 amp breaker your going to have a fire. Too much resistance to the current flow demands of the dryer, it will not work properly. I suggest you get the 10/3 then see what happens.


What about the washer...does it work ok?

stubbie
It acts exactly like what you described, as if there is not enough current reaching it. So it does not matter that there are 220 volts getting to the dryer since there is a lot of resistance, correct? I tried turning the washer on just now to see what would happen and all it seems to do is draw even more current away from the dryer. (Where i would normally get the buzzer to at least make a noise, with the washer going i get nothing)
The dryer only seems to work semi-normally if i set the washer knob to a certain setting for some reason. im going to pick up some 10/3 tomorrow and swap it out, hopefully that will fix the problem thanks stubbie.
cisco10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 12:49 AM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


With the dryer turned off your washer should work on 14 awg as it is a much smaller 120 volt motor load not a high amp 240 volt resistive load. If the washer does not work with the dryer off then you have some issue with the appliance. But whoever installed this circuit was an idiot or he was serving an low duty cycle arc welder and jerry rigging the receptacle.

So get the 10/3 and post back when you have it installed with the results.

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 01:02 AM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Don't forget you will be going from a 3 wire to a 4 wire so you need to remove the bonding strap or ground wire from the neutral terminal of the dryer. Then connect the new 4 wire power cord. The green will go to the frame not the center neutral terminal,.... should be a green screw on the metal frame somewhere close to the wiring terminals put the green of the power cord there. On some stacked washer/dryers there will be a wire (green or green with yellow stripe) that goes from the neutral terminal to the upper cabinet on 3 wire connections. You need to move this wire to the green screw with the power cord green. DO NOT REMOVE THE SMALL WHITE WIRE FROM THE NEUTRAL TERMINAL.

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-30-2007 at 01:06 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:07 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Why would the dryer running affect the washer? Someone branched off one side of the dryer circuit?! Unbalanced load at the panel? Hope this is not indicative of how the wiring was updated. You may want to have someone check the updating.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:19 AM   #11
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by boman47k View Post
Why would the dryer running affect the washer? Someone branched off one side of the dryer circuit?! Unbalanced load at the panel? Hope this is not indicative of how the wiring was updated. You may want to have someone check the updating.
Read the original post: this is a washer/dryer combination unit that works off a single 220 source.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 11:55 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


You stated it was recently updated ... I assumed it was by a licenced contractor with permits and inspection. If not, why bother with that statement bogus statement.
And as I noted in the 115v portion of my initial response ... "EVEN" if it was 115v...it would be #12 by code, not that it was a 115v ckt.

Last edited by JGarth; 08-30-2007 at 01:39 PM.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 12:14 PM   #13
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Cisco

In hindsight... I should have said don't run anything until you get a proper dryer circuit installed. If this original wire was 14 awg on a 30 amp breaker it is just too dangerous to fool around with the washer/dryer combo.

Also you are going to have to get in the panel to run the 10/3 G be sure you know what the heck you are doing and do not work with the panel live. This does not mean just turn the breaker for the dryer off.

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-30-2007 at 12:19 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 04:11 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Hey Stubbie. I changed the wiring to 10 gaugue wiring and i pretty much followed all the steps. For some reason now though i am getting 220 out of all outlet terminals (220 even between x and w, y and w on the 10-30R) what could i be doing wrong? Both the neutrals and grounds go to the same buss on my panel could that be an issue? i dont think it would since i was getting proper readings when it was wired with 14 gauge..

I should also point out its connected to a 2 pole 30 amp breaker and even with only one hot cable connected to it it reads 220 between it and the neutral wire.
Could it be something wrong with the breaker?

Last edited by cisco10; 08-31-2007 at 04:18 PM.
cisco10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 04:45 PM   #15
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem?


Turn that breaker off for now. Do you have any other double pole breakers in the panel? If so what do they test from each lug of the breaker to the panel neutral bar? Something is not adding up and this may not be something you should be fooling with.

Stubbie


Last edited by Stubbie; 08-31-2007 at 05:18 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer problem blmacias Electrical 21 06-14-2007 08:15 PM
Problem with ELECTRIC DRYER plugs SpaceCrawler Appliances 6 06-03-2007 11:21 AM
Dryer wiring jasjks Electrical 8 09-11-2006 05:33 PM
wiring for a dryer irish_hood Electrical 4 01-11-2006 02:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.