Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2011, 10:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dryer electrical


I have a Maytag Intellidry dryer that has a 3 prong plug with a "L" prong. My outlet is a 3 prong outlet without a "L". The breaker for the electrical line is 40A. I am not sure how many amps my dryer draws.

1. I tried googling the amps for my dryer, but I can't find it. How can I find out how many amps it draws?

2. Assuming the dryer draws 30A, can I put a 30A 3 prong outlet with the "L" on the 40A breaker?

Thank you for any help.

John

johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 10:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 75
Default

dryer electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnl0958
I have a Maytag Intellidry dryer that has a 3 prong plug with a "L" prong. My outlet is a 3 prong outlet without a "L". The breaker for the electrical line is 40A. I am not sure how many amps my dryer draws.

1. I tried googling the amps for my dryer, but I can't find it. How can I find out how many amps it draws?

2. Assuming the dryer draws 30A, can I put a 30A 3 prong outlet with the "L" on the 40A breaker?

Thank you for any help.

John
Is there a data plate with all the specifications somewhere on the machine?

clydesdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 10:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dryer electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by clydesdale View Post
Is there a data plate with all the specifications somewhere on the machine?
I looked at all the stickers on the back, and I off the plate that hides the cord and I could not find anything.
johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:03 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

dryer electrical


majorty of North Americian dryers draw about 22 to 26 amp and they used on 30 amp circuit.

The recpetale you describing that is not a 30 amp that is a 50 amp range recptale so therefore you will have to change breaker size and receptale to use it with the dryer.

Very rare that I have see the dryer run more than 30 amp.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:10 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dryer electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
The recpetale you describing that is not a 30 amp that is a 50 amp range recptale so therefore you will have to change breaker size and receptale to use it with the dryer.
So a 30A receptacle on a 40A breakers is not good?
johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:23 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

dryer electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnl0958 View Post
So a 30A receptacle on a 40A breakers is not good?
Oui., that is correct and that is a not a good combation at all so change both receptale and breaker to 30 amp also please make a note on dryer receptale end how many wires you have there there are two verison the three wire verison or four wire verison.

The three wire will have red et black and white or bare conductor { this part is for exsting installment only once you relocated or do other repair to this circuit it have to upgrade to four conductor there is no extempts on that }


The Four wire circuit will have red et black et white et bare or green conductor and you will have 4 wire dryer cord as well.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:50 PM   #7
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

dryer electrical


dryers will draw about 15 amps max, but do like French said and change the outlet and breaker
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:53 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dryer electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Oui., that is correct and that is a not a good combation at all so change both receptale and breaker to 30 amp also please make a note on dryer receptale end how many wires you have there there are two verison the three wire verison or four wire verison.

The three wire will have red et black and white or bare conductor { this part is for exsting installment only once you relocated or do other repair to this circuit it have to upgrade to four conductor there is no extempts on that }


The Four wire circuit will have red et black et white et bare or green conductor and you will have 4 wire dryer cord as well.

Merci.
Marc

I took the plate off the receptacle and I think there are only 3 wires. I see a bare wire and 2 other wires. I have the 3 prong outlet with the "L". On the back, there is only a of the screws marked "white". How do I know where to attach the other 2 wires?
johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:07 AM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

dryer electrical


Eh.,, did you turn the power off to that repectale ?? that will not take very much to make a very strong fireworks I am famauir with that one and is this receptale is surface mounted or recessed in the junction box ??

If surface make SURE the power is off please,

That type of wire I will need little more descrbiation and colour and is this cable is oval shaped or round ??

I don't know if you can able post the photo that will help a bit but I will post what SE cable look like here it is .,




If that let us know asap.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:11 AM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

dryer electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
dryers will draw about 15 amps max, but do like French said and change the outlet and breaker
Just check with your dryer nameplate they draw more than 15 amps I know most draw in 22 amp range which it is common I have see.

Even with European verison they draw anywhere from 15 to 32 amp depending on model { all are on 240 volt otherwise noted I know at least two do use 415 volts at 12 amps triphase }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:22 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dryer electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Eh.,, did you turn the power off to that repectale ?? that will not take very much to make a very strong fireworks I am famauir with that one and is this receptale is surface mounted or recessed in the junction box ??

If surface make SURE the power is off please,

That type of wire I will need little more descrbiation and colour and is this cable is oval shaped or round ??

I don't know if you can able post the photo that will help a bit but I will post what SE cable look like here it is .,




If that let us know asap.

Merci.
Marc
My receptacle is wall mount.




This is the cable to the receptacle.




Another pic.

John

Last edited by johnl0958; 03-29-2011 at 12:27 AM.
johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:40 AM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

dryer electrical


Ahh Oui that is 8-2 SE cable and that is copper that good and leave it alone but the tricky part is the breaker itself that will be a pain in backend depending on what brand breaker you have.

The range and dryer receptale have same termation opening so it is not a issue at all { to hook up the conductor to the termation screw }

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 07:42 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dryer electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Ahh Oui that is 8-2 SE cable and that is copper that good and leave it alone but the tricky part is the breaker itself that will be a pain in backend depending on what brand breaker you have.

The range and dryer receptale have same termation opening so it is not a issue at all { to hook up the conductor to the termation screw }

Merci.
Marc

This is the receptacle that I bought.




The lowest one is labeled white and the other ones don't say anything. So how do I know which wires goes where? Also, I do not have a white wire, I have a black, red and bare wire.

As for the breaker, how do i know which one to buy? I didn't know there are specific ones that I need, expect getting the right amps.

John
johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 07:47 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,921
Rewards Points: 2,238
Default

dryer electrical


Bare wire goes where it states white wire, Black and red go to the other screws.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 08:22 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dryer electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Bare wire goes where it states white wire, Black and red go to the other screws.
Of the ones not marked, does it matter which one is connected to the black wire and which one is connected to the red wire?

johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer exhaust duct not connected inside dryer frankrizzo Appliances 4 02-09-2010 09:47 PM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 11:28 PM
Please look at this dryer vent installation Andy Griffith Appliances 6 08-31-2009 01:39 PM
Dryer Pony Problem. Hobb3s Electrical 17 09-30-2008 09:16 PM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 11:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.