Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 05:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dryer cord problems


I had a three prong plug on my dryer I converted it to a four prong because that's what my new house had. I followed instructions exactly and had pictures to go by. I dried my first load and it tripped the circuit breaker. it melted the black wire. I bought a new dryer and the guy plugged it in and the plug in doesn't work now. I know I have to call an electrician but am afraid of what it's gonna cost. can you tell me what I might have done to cause this.

Melanie paris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,500
Rewards Points: 4,116
Default

dryer cord problems


Did you run a new wire all the way back to the panel.
Unless you can tell us or show us how you wired it hard to say what went wrong.
Sounds like you wired the nutral or ground to a hot wire.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:37 PM   #3
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,082
Rewards Points: 2,806
Default

dryer cord problems


It's most likely you still have a good outlet---get a tester and see---you need a two wire tester--post a picture of your outlet and someone here will tell you how to test it---

Also--when you had the short in the old dryer---you must have blown the breaker---make sure it's turned back on for the test---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:01 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,337
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

dryer cord problems


Possible that you melted the outlet when the short happened. Lucky a fire did not become from it, and that the breaker did its job.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (12-30-2012)
Old 12-30-2012, 10:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,658
Rewards Points: 2,276
Default

dryer cord problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by Melanie paris View Post
I had a three prong plug on my dryer I converted it to a four prong because that's what my new house had. I followed instructions exactly and had pictures to go by. I dried my first load and it tripped the circuit breaker. it melted the black wire. I bought a new dryer and the guy plugged it in and the plug in doesn't work now. I know I have to call an electrician but am afraid of what it's gonna cost. can you tell me what I might have done to cause this.
can you tell us what colored wires went to what pins in the plug ?
What voltage does it say on the dryers info plate ?
And what current draw ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:29 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

dryer cord problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by Melanie paris View Post
I had a three prong plug on my dryer I converted it to a four prong because that's what my new house had. I followed instructions exactly and had pictures to go by. I dried my first load and it tripped the circuit breaker. it melted the black wire. I bought a new dryer and the guy plugged it in and the plug in doesn't work now. I know I have to call an electrician but am afraid of what it's gonna cost. can you tell me what I might have done to cause this.
This what you should done for the first time I will grab the voltmeter to verify the dryer receptale connection before you turn the dryer on for the first time.

I will post the correct 4 wire hook up diagram the red and black is hot conductor while white is neutral and ground is typically bare copper.

Note: most case with 4 wire dryer receptales if you look in the back the Green screw is used for ground ( bare copper conductor ) while silver screw is used for netural aka white conductor now for brass colour it don't matter which way it goes.

I will post the photos so you can get the idea how it should be.






That should help you on the question.

I think either the conductor is touching in wrong spot causing the black wire to melt ( this should trip the breaker pretty fast ) some case loose connection do the same thing ( it may trip the breakers if on that location )

The first thing is check the recepetale to make sure there is no other damage there if not check the breaker box to see if any connection got loosen up.

If you get the electrician come out they can find it pretty fast but the cost that part I do not know it will varies a bit.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
forcedreno2012 (12-31-2012), hardwareman (12-30-2012), mpoulton (12-31-2012), NJMarine (12-31-2012), oh'mike (12-31-2012)
Old 12-30-2012, 11:59 PM   #7
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

dryer cord problems


what Marc said, you can't get a more informative answer than that

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hardwareman For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-01-2013), oh'mike (12-31-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work inspectorman Electrical 32 02-20-2012 03:16 AM
3 prong to 4 prong dryer cord nwilson1987 Electrical 6 09-08-2010 01:11 AM
New Dryer Cord Required? sweaty Electrical 6 04-12-2009 12:23 PM
Dryer vent ponch37300 General DIY Discussions 10 01-21-2009 05:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.