Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 04:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


I have a very long run for the clothes dryer vent and there is a booster blower to assist the dryer. It is activated by a pressure switch. This has a port that sticks into the vent and is connected to the switch by a tube. I'm on my third one and am tired of cleaning the port, tube, etc. It is leaving the fan running long after the dryer is done & needs replacing again

Can someone point me to an electric version? A switch that would sense the electric load of the dryer changing and activate the booster blower. I have an electric dryer w/ 220v service. I am thinking of a 110v switch that would have a sensor first plugging into the dryer outlet and the dryer would then plug into it. It would be similar to the float switch I have on my sump pump. They must exist

Weakend Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:13 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Weakend Warrior View Post
I have a very long run for the clothes dryer vent and there is a booster blower to assist the dryer. It is activated by a pressure switch. This has a port that sticks into the vent and is connected to the switch by a tube. I'm on my third one and am tired of cleaning the port, tube, etc. It is leaving the fan running long after the dryer is done & needs replacing again

Can someone point me to an electric version? A switch that would sense the electric load of the dryer changing and activate the booster blower. I have an electric dryer w/ 220v service. I am thinking of a 110v switch that would have a sensor first plugging into the dryer outlet and the dryer would then plug into it. It would be similar to the float switch I have on my sump pump. They must exist
They are suppose to run after the dryer stops... how long is long for you?

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:38 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


Hours after the dryer stops
Weakend Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:41 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


You could always buy a current sensor relay and wire the fan that way.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:56 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


I see, like this one?
Thanks

http://www.amazon.com/Soler-Palau-CS...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Weakend Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:06 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


something like that would work.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 554
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


you could use one of these.

http://www.functionaldevices.com/pdf...X24_SERIES.pdf

they also make time delay ones that could be set to run for some time after the current drops.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:15 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


Thanks
The dryer is on 1st fl, the vent/booster is in bsmt
How does this one wire in?
I have easy access to the 220v dryer wire in bsmt
Weakend Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:24 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Weakend Warrior View Post
Thanks
The dryer is on 1st fl, the vent/booster is in bsmt
How does this one wire in?
I have easy access to the 220v dryer wire in bsmt
Install the current sensor in the electrical panel if thats in the basement.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:34 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


I appreciate your help
Am thinking tho, an ideal solution would be a sensor that slips around the 220v line to the dryer. The 220v line and the existing 110v line/box for the booster are all in close proximity.

Do you think this would work?
http://www.laxengineeredsolutions.co...-p/ribxgha.htm
Weakend Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:37 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Weakend Warrior View Post
I appreciate your help
Am thinking tho, an ideal solution would be a sensor that slips around the 220v line to the dryer. The 220v line and the existing 110v line/box for the booster are all in close proximity.

Do you think this would work?
http://www.laxengineeredsolutions.co...-p/ribxgha.htm
Well of course the current sensor has to slip around the dryer circuit, thats why I suggested the panel location... otherwise you need to install a jbox and splice the existing dryer circuit elsewhere... to me, that seems like more work than warranted, but i can't see what you are dealing with either, just assuming what would be easiest.

Just so we are clear, that current sensor must go around ONE of the individual WIRES of the dryer circuit, not the CABLE, that would produce ZERO current.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 02-05-2013 at 05:40 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:48 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


Nice save
I did not understand that the sensor is for one lead. I do understand why now. Best not to break sheathing where I planned the install

Would you pls offer a bit more detail on how the panel version wires in
The grey wire wraps around one of the 220 leads at the breaker?
Weakend Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:54 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Dryer Booster Fan Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Weakend Warrior View Post
Nice save
I did not understand that the sensor is for one lead. I do understand why now. Best not to break sheathing where I planned the install

Would you pls offer a bit more detail on how the panel version wires in
The grey wire wraps around one of the 220 leads at the breaker?
Just follow the directions on whatever current sensor you decide to purchase, IMO, it would be easiest if the booster fan was a home run back to the panel as well, this will make the wiring pretty simple. The current sensor basically becomes a switch that only energizes the fan when the dryer is running.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
taco sr503-4 switch jmon HVAC 53 11-12-2012 06:26 PM
Rewire a switch that controls an outlet. z00ropa Electrical 8 10-23-2012 06:00 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.