Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2007, 05:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Drop In Range Hook-Up


I have a drop in range that was hard-wired. I want to now use it in a kitchen island/cart that I can move about on occassion. I want to install a plug and use a wall mounted receptacle. The data sheet says: "The range must be connected to a grounded metal, permanent wiring system." Can I add a plug to this unit or does the range need to be hard-wired. I'll have an electrician do the work, but I don't want to go to the trouble of building a cabinet for the range if I can't use a plug. Any advise?

mickey45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 09:29 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,989
Default

Drop In Range Hook-Up


Arent you the resourceful one,.... I suppose one could argue that the cooktop was not engineered for cord and plug by the manufacturer. But I suppose if you used a receptacle rated for the load (amps) there could be a lot worst things. You would also have to make sure the wiring to the receptacle was appropriate for the cooktop.

Stubbie

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gas range swap kenny11876 Appliances 2 02-20-2008 08:31 PM
Range outlet required? Doug_Shaver Electrical 2 06-12-2007 05:10 PM
Home, home and the range! ...A dimensional query. Hushpuppy Carpentry 4 05-26-2006 06:23 PM
Can I Wire a range hood to an exhisting outlet? skellies Electrical 2 05-09-2006 04:06 PM
Replacing Stove Top with Range the.vicster Electrical 3 02-23-2006 05:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.