Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2010, 10:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


When driving a ground rod, should the top of the ground rod (where the clamp is) be left exposed above the ground, or should the entire ground rod be driven below the surface of the ground (burying the clamp and ground wire in the ground)? Thanks.

fortop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 10:48 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,817
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


To satisfy the NEC the rod must have 8' in contact with the earth. Unless you are using rods longer than 8', the entire length must be below the surface. The acorn clamp should be below the surface and also listed for use in a direct burial application.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 11:25 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


Thanks. I thought it would be buried completely to get full 8' burial, but wanted to check.
fortop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 12:05 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


Mine is around 4" under the surface, and about 3' from the house.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 12:26 PM   #5
Totally screwed together
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cypress, SoCal
Posts: 325
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


I got alot of flack for this before, but call your building inspector to double check.

Here, in my city of Cypress, California, they wanted the top of the ground rod exposed 6", and it could not be covered, and it could not be driven down after it was inspected.
xxPaulCPxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 06:55 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


My inspector wants me to put it just below the surface but it has to be left uncovered for inspection.
Old College Try is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 07:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


Man, you would think the NEC would be pretty clear on this and inspectors would all agree on something this basic. Like different people reading the same Bible and coming up with different religions.
fortop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 10:54 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


no mater the minimum required for code, I'd want is a few inches below the surface at least for safety reasons.
Think of what would happen if you fell, and hit your head on that? a little DIY Trepannation
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 08:56 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


Ditto on burying that sucker. A ground rod sticking out is a danger to things like trip hazards, and destroying your lawn mower.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 11:11 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxPaulCPxx View Post

Here, in my city of Cypress, California, they wanted the top of the ground rod exposed 6", and it could not be covered, and it could not be driven down after it was inspected.
This is one of the stupidest things I have ever heard with regard to electrical work, and does NOT satisfy the NEC.

WHY would they want to create a (albeit minor) code violation and trip/damage hazard at the same time???
Makes no sense to me, but then again, this is California we are talking about.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 03:10 AM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxPaulCPxx View Post
I got alot of flack for this before, but call your building inspector to double check.

Here, in my city of Cypress, California, they wanted the top of the ground rod exposed 6", and it could not be covered, and it could not be driven down after it was inspected.
I will check one of the Californe electrician to verify this story I have a feeling someone will steal the copper conductor for naugt reason.

In Wiscosnin it have to be buried end of discussion unless you have tempory power set up then it will allowed.

In France it automatique buried no question asked.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 03:24 AM   #12
Totally screwed together
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cypress, SoCal
Posts: 325
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


Since I've been here and gotten flack about it, I'm thinking I'll stop by just to verify... just to make sure it wasn't just the inspector I had with bad info.

Anybody know what the NEC code number was, so I can point it out?
xxPaulCPxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 08:13 AM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


Paul, it is not you we are giving flack, it is this dumb rule, if it is in fact accurate.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 08:39 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


250.52 Grounding Electrodes.
(A) Electrodes Permitted for Grounding.

(5) Rod and Pipe Electrodes.
Rod and pipe electrodes shall not be less than 2.44 m (8 ft) in length and shall consist of the following materials.

(a) Grounding electrodes of pipe or conduit shall not be smaller than metric designator 21 (trade size 3/4) and, where of steel, shall have the outer surface galvanized or otherwise metal-coated for corrosion protection.

(b) Grounding electrodes of stainless steel and copper or zinc coated steel shall be at least 15.87 mm (5/8 in.) in diameter, unless listed and not less than 12.70 mm (1/2 in.) in diameter.





250.53 Grounding Electrode System Installation.
(G) Rod and Pipe Electrodes.
The electrode shall be installed such that at least 2.44 m (8 ft) of length is in contact with the soil. It shall be driven to a depth of not less than 2.44 m (8 ft) except that, where rock bottom is encountered, the electrode shall be driven at an oblique angle not to exceed 45 degrees from the vertical or, where rock bottom is encountered at an angle up to 45 degrees, the electrode shall be permitted to be buried in a trench that is at least 750 mm (30 in.) deep. The upper end of the electrode shall be flush with or below ground level unless the aboveground end and the grounding electrode conductor attachment are protected against physical damage as specified in 250.10.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 09:55 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Driving a Ground Rod


Do local jurisdictions have the ability to vary from the NEC? If so do they then have the right to say that they want a ground rod sticking up out of the ground even if it's a stupid rule?

Old College Try is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 05:55 PM
Lost my Ground jodywoj Electrical 10 12-20-2009 07:37 PM
dimmer-aluminum ground along with existing copper ground. scottie Electrical 2 09-25-2009 07:43 AM
Panel ground questions Joe F Electrical 12 08-05-2008 10:48 AM
Older home -- Open Ground issues, please help Toyz Electrical 1 06-15-2008 09:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.