Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-05-2012, 08:46 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Downgrage 20amp to 15amp

Hello to all,

Being new to the forum I apologize if something like this has already been asked/answered. I am not an electrician so please feel free to scold me any way you like . These days I am bashing my head against the wall and need help.

I recently remodeled a corner of my house that had an electrical fireplace built into the corner wall. I removed it but as far as I remember it never worked (well, I never needed to use it anyway, it weighs a ton and can't bring it back up to reconnect and test). It used a 15a Standard Single Pole Toggle Switch (UPC 785007191127). I believe the circuit is a dedicated 20amp one. The fuse is 20amps. The cable is pretty stiff so I think it is 12 ga (will check). Before I closed up the wall I could see it drop through the floor and get routed towards the main electrical panel (my basement is unfinished so I can see it going through the beams and disappearing behind the finished garage wall where the main panel is located).

Here's where my problem is:
I bought an electrical wall mount fireplace, cut and spliced its power cable to the toggle switch. I mounted it and it worked normally with the flame imitation. I had a party to celebrate and while I was showing off we heard a loud pop and, as I found out once I opened it, a blower fan motor had failed. So I pegged the issues at crappy design. I returned it.
I now have a different unit that requires a 15a/125v outlet. I had bought a 20amp duplex receptacle to change from the toggle switch that I described above. I did not break the tabs so both the receptacles were fed by the 20amp circuit.