Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-29-2008, 09:33 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Down lights placement issues?

Hi, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this stuff.

I am installing some down lights ready for a qualified electrician to come through and wire them up for me, trying to save money everywhere I can. I'm installing 5 lights in a straight line on each side of the room, 10 in total. The type of down lights that I purchased were the mains power halogen type, they run on 240v and do not require a transformer. Same as these only silver...
http://www.nelsonlamps.com.au/viewprod.aspx?pid=302502
In the instructions it says to keep 100m clear of any insulation material around the light for ventilation as they obviously generate a lot of heat. This is not an issue as I have not laid the insulation in that part of the roof yet. I do have 2 other issues though that I am a bit concerned about.

Firstly. I marked out where I wanted to install the down lights and cut out the holes for them only to realize that on one side of the room I am very close the beams in the roof. As the beams are actually slightly bowed I have had to chip away at a few of them to make the down light fit. Is it going to be an issue having these lamps so close to the wood?

Secondly. Where I need to install one of the lights to keep everything looking symmetrical, it is about 150mm to 200mm away from a large airconditioning duct and the duct work in the roof is directly over the top where the light needs to be. I'm a bit stuck at the moment with what options I have in regards to this with heat being my major concern. One option that I can think of is moving the entire duct but that seems like a lot of work and quite frankly I don't want to do that. Is there something that I can do or make up so the heat will be dispersed away from the duct work.

Ads79 is offline   Reply With Quote