Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2009, 04:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Double Tapped Breaker


hello all,
at a recent home inspection, the inspector noted that a breaker was double tapped and this is not good because it could arc, one wire is for lights and the other is for the doorbell transformer, he mention i could use a 2 pole breaker like the one pictured here, is this true or safe?? what else could i do with the doorbell wire? put it on another seperate appropriate breaker?
http://www.drillspot.com/pimages/1565/156513_300.jpg

B2theRy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 04:56 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

Double Tapped Breaker


Remove the 2 wires from the breaker, wire nut them together with a single pigtail. Run the new pigtail to the breaker. You do not need to dedicate a breaker to a doorbell xformer.

rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 05:00 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,748
Default

Double Tapped Breaker


Some breakers are made to be doubletapped, orwise just as the handy husband stated and you will be good to go.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:57 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Double Tapped Breaker


Most SqD and CH breakers are listed for doubletapped with two conductors at the termail screw however Double check the label to make sure { they are only allowed on 30 amp or smaller breaker size } I doubt that other are listed like that.

Otherwise just make a pigtail and wirenutted it and that will useally take care the issue there.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double pole CH breaker ?? James Con Electrical 7 07-09-2008 11:41 PM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 02:44 PM
Three way light switches and double pole breaker ShawnColes Electrical 6 04-15-2008 08:25 PM
feed back voltage when using double breaker sluggermike Electrical 59 09-20-2007 02:37 PM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.