Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2010, 01:08 PM   #1
Rnj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Hello there,

I've found this forum using Google trying to figure out how to wire my project, and I would appreciate your help.

I bought some new lighting for my room which has two light bulbs (each bulb has seperate wires - positive and negative), until now I had a normal switch, now I want a double switch - Each one to each light.

I took the current switch out and there are two wires - Brown and blue (same thing goes for the ceiling).

Can I wire those two wires somehow that will let me control each bulb with each switch?

P.S. Sorry if I got the terms wrong, I'm more of small electronics projects type rather than home electricity

Thanks!

Rnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 01:21 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


are you somewhere outside of the US?

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 01:26 PM   #3
Rnj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Indeed I am, has the brown and blue wiring framed me?
Rnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 01:28 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: north central pa
Posts: 113
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rnj View Post
Hello there,

I've found this forum using Google trying to figure out how to wire my project, and I would appreciate your help.

I bought some new lighting for my room which has two light bulbs (each bulb has seperate wires - positive and negative), until now I had a normal switch, now I want a double switch - Each one to each light.

I took the current switch out and there are two wires - Brown and blue (same thing goes for the ceiling).

Can I wire those two wires somehow that will let me control each bulb with each switch?

P.S. Sorry if I got the terms wrong, I'm more of small electronics projects type rather than home electricity

Thanks!
normally the 2 light socket wires are connected together (2 hots and 2 neutrals) then connected to teh feed hot and neutral respectively, fed by the single switch (switching the hot wire). your desire for separate control will be limited by the number of wires between the switch box and the light fixture. since there must be a switched hot for each socket (x2)and a shared neutral (1), adding up to 3 current carrying conductors. you likely only have 2. the black and brown colors at the switch are unfamiliar to me, is this a low voltage system or non-usa?
TimPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 01:34 PM   #5
Rnj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Quote:
Originally Posted by TimPa View Post
normally the 2 light socket wires are connected together (2 hots and 2 neutrals) then connected to teh feed hot and neutral respectively, fed by the single switch (switching the hot wire). your desire for separate control will be limited by the number of wires between the switch box and the light fixture. since there must be a switched hot for each socket (x2)and a shared neutral (1), adding up to 3 current carrying conductors. you likely only have 2. the black and brown colors at the switch are unfamiliar to me, is this a low voltage system or non-usa?
Thanks for the comment, as mentioned, non usa indeed. Blue is the phase, brown is the neutral.

Then I understand there is no easy way to do it, but add another wire?
Rnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 01:45 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: north central pa
Posts: 113
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


"Then I understand there is no easy way to do it, but add another wire?"
unless there is a spare wire already. that's what i'm saying am sticking to it -

"since there must be a switched hot for each socket (x2)and a shared neutral (1), adding up to 3 current carrying conductors. you likely only have 2."
TimPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:02 PM   #7
Rnj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Quote:
Originally Posted by TimPa View Post
"Then I understand there is no easy way to do it, but add another wire?"
unless there is a spare wire already. that's what i'm saying am sticking to it -

"since there must be a switched hot for each socket (x2)and a shared neutral (1), adding up to 3 current carrying conductors. you likely only have 2."
Just wanted to make sure. Thanks a million!
Rnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:13 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rnj View Post
Indeed I am, has the brown and blue wiring framed me?
it was a good clue.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:18 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rnj View Post
Thanks for the comment, as mentioned, non usa indeed. Blue is the phase, brown is the neutral.

Then I understand there is no easy way to do it, but add another wire?
and if I am correct, this gives another clue that you are in the UK or someplace that uses the UK wiring system.

and this is not a very new system since even the UK switched to IEC colors and uses blue for a neutral now. Don't know what year they changed though.

am I right?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:23 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


The brown and bleu is common European and aussie colour format.

Now to OP .,

If you want the light bulbs to be on seperated you will have to change the cable from the switch point to the ceiling luminaire.

you will need 2.5mm˛ triplex cable or 4.0mm˛ triplex depending on it have in there however if you have exsting ring circuit that will get tricky but I will expain it if you have it.

To change from twinner to triplex you have to pull the exsting cable out and run the new one to the switch point and get double toggle or rocker swtich.

and you will have to remark one conductor useally Bleu with brown sleeve or brown tape one of two { some case black } the remarked is your power supply while the Brown and Black is switched conductor.

Can you tell me which location so I can able pinpoint more closer with final connection due I am famuir with UK , French , Aussise system.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:25 PM   #11
Rnj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
and if I am correct, this gives another clue that you are in the UK or someplace that uses the UK wiring system.

and this is not a very new system since even the UK switched to IEC colors and uses blue for a neutral now. Don't know what year they changed though.

am I right?
Actually I'm from Israel, and the building I live in is around 13 years old.
I suppose it is indeed the old UK system (there are many influences of UK in Israel, it goes back to the days of the British Mandate for Palestine actually )
Rnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:27 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
and if I am correct, this gives another clue that you are in the UK or someplace that uses the UK wiring system.

and this is not a very new system since even the UK switched to IEC colors and uses blue for a neutral now. Don't know what year they changed though.

am I right?
They did change that about 5 years ago to harmozied the system.

so here quick run down

Bleu - Netural
Brown - Phase A
Grey - Phase B
Black - Phase C

that what it should be but here my verison { France }

Bleu -Netural
Black - Phase A
Red - Phase B
Brown -Phase C
Green/yellow - earth

so there are couple latest verison of conductor colours that is legit.{ bioth are used but the first part is little more common then second one }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:28 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


I'll let Marc run with this one. He is more familiar with the Euro systems so less likely to make a mistake than I would be.

(just watch out for his accent. He's French ya know)


just kidding with ya marc.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (08-22-2010)
Old 08-22-2010, 02:32 PM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rnj View Post
Actually I'm from Israel, and the building I live in is around 13 years old.
I suppose it is indeed the old UK system (there are many influences of UK in Israel, it goes back to the days of the British Mandate for Palestine actually )
Ok that is stright shot

Just follow my comment above this it pretty straight foward task with colour codes

They havent change very much with colour codes expect just updated few years back.

But if you have hollow wall it will be very easy to swap cable if soild wall you can either chip it out or run a surface tube on the wall and run the cable inside of it.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:35 PM   #15
Rnj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Double switch for two light bulbs


Thanks a lot Marc and nap, I'll switch to a 2.5 triplex wire first thing tomorrow morning!
P.S I'm pretty sure it is indeed radial circuit.
How trickier does it get?

Rnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM
Removing a light source from a 3 way switch ecsedlak Electrical 4 11-29-2009 10:46 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 12:17 PM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 06:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.