Double Pole Vs Single Pole Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 05:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Double pole vs single pole question


I have a small 19 gallon water heater in a small garage space, that was installed by some questionable handymen a few months back. I just had the plumbing and septic finished so tested the hot water, only to find the element was already burned out.

I noticed however, that this 120v unit is wired via 10 gauge wire to a 30 amp double breaker. This is questionable because I thought a 120v appliance would be wired to a single pole on the hot wire and run neutral to the neural panel area.

My question is, can I run the hot wire out of one side of the double breaker without safety issues, or should I definitely replace it with a single pole breaker?

I would normally not question the work, but everything these guys did already had to be adjusted, so I'm only naturally assuming this may need to be also.

If its safe, I would like to simply things and just connect the one hot and leave an open space in the other half of the double pole... Is this possible?

Thanks for your advice-

Advertisement

Araucaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 05:37 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Double pole vs single pole question


Wow, a 120 volt water heater on a 240 volt circuit...
How many watts is the element?

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 05:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Double pole vs single pole question


The element I just bought today to replace is 1500/120v. That's why I'm skeptical as to how to proceed- I bought a single pole 30amp breaker today as well, is the 30 ok to use or should I step down to single pole 20?
Araucaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:56 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Double pole vs single pole question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Araucaria View Post
The element I just bought today to replace is 1500/120v. That's why I'm skeptical as to how to proceed- I bought a single pole 30amp breaker today as well, is the 30 ok to use or should I step down to single pole 20?
As long as it is #10 wire the 30 amp breaker is fine. Did you pick up a blank plate to fill the empty space when you changed breaker and I assume you moved the white wire to the neutral bus in the panel.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
Araucaria (04-24-2012)
Old 04-24-2012, 05:37 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,240
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

Double pole vs single pole question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Araucaria View Post

My question is, can I run the hot wire out of one side of the double breaker without safety issues, or should I definitely replace it with a single pole breaker?

If the wire was only connected to 1 side of the 2 pole breaker- Black on the breaker, white on the neutral bar, 1 terminal on the breaker left open- then voltage is not a problem. You only get 120 volts from 1 terminal on a 2 pole breaker.

Ig the black and white were both connected to the breaker you were getting 240 to the WH.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Araucaria (04-24-2012)
Old 04-24-2012, 09:20 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Double pole vs single pole question


Thank you for the advice - I actually figured the same idea, that I would only get 120v via connecting only hot to the breaker, so just wanted other advice.

Thanks again

Advertisement

Araucaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing single pole light switches with double pole bruce54 Electrical 43 04-15-2012 11:23 AM
Help with single pole switch that has me baffled NABRIL Electrical 19 03-12-2012 06:37 AM
Powering a new single pole switch off of an existing three way switch set? jamesm067 Electrical 3 01-17-2012 08:36 AM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-09-2011 12:00 AM
Yet another distance from Pole and meter to house question urbanfarmer Electrical 9 05-25-2008 07:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts