Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 12:04 AM   #31
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Double Pole 50amp Breaker for 240, lets make it 120


Quote:
Originally Posted by DavesComputers View Post
the orginal welder cable on it isnt much more probably 14, its actually quite small, so i doubt it pulls more then 20 amps

EDIT : Input: 240 volts, 24.5 amps, single phase, 60 Hz are the specifications of a similar welder
Then 10 awg will work.

Please post a picture of the panel interior and wiring after you finished installing it. I want to make sure you have it done correctly. Try to not power it up till we have a chance to look things over. Post pictures ...

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 12-11-2011 at 12:09 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 12:24 AM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Double Pole 50amp Breaker for 240, lets make it 120


yea i will, i opened up the breaker box in homedepot, its actually ALOT more simple then i thought a breaker box would be haha. I do computers and stuff mainly DC electronics, i wired the basement with 120v thats easy stuff, i just wasnt sure with the 30amp and 240v stuff.

ill set it all up 2morrow and get those pictures out probably sometime around 1 or 2 eastern
DavesComputers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:26 AM   #33
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Double Pole 50amp Breaker for 240, lets make it 120


Quote:
Originally Posted by DavesComputers View Post
yea i will, i opened up the breaker box in homedepot, its actually ALOT more simple then i thought a breaker box would be haha. I do computers and stuff mainly DC electronics, i wired the basement with 120v thats easy stuff, i just wasnt sure with the 30amp and 240v stuff.

ill set it all up 2morrow and get those pictures out probably sometime around 1 or 2 eastern
That would be good. I won't be able to view them till pretty late in the evening. Maybe one of the other electricians here can look them over and respond. Thing to remember is you must have a neutral bar isolated from the metal and the grounding bar. So in your case and not knowing for sure what panel you purchased you will connect all neutrals (white insulated wires) to the neutral bar. This includes your white neutral of your feeder from the house panel. The only other white should be from your 120 volt rv branch circuit. The green ground of the rv circuit will go to the grounding bar which will be bonded to the metal enclosure as will the ground from the feeder and the ground from the 240 volt welder circuit. When your finished and assuming no other circuits you should have 2 neutral wires landed on your neutral bar, and 3 grounds on the grounding bar. The two hots from the feeder can be landed on the main lugs. There is an option to install a double pole breaker as a main using a hold down kit but that isn't necessary. It does give you a main breaker so you can kill power to the panel by turning off the main .. other than that there is no real advantage in your situation. The two hots of the 240 branch circuit land on the double pole 30 amp breaker. The black of the rv circuit to the single pole 30 amp breaker.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 12-11-2011 at 02:28 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 12:38 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Double Pole 50amp Breaker for 240, lets make it 120


ok so what about that small ground? do i have to upgrade it? if so im not sure if ill beable to pull another wire from the old panel in the basement up to this one

i doubt this is all going to be to code anyway so is it necessary?
DavesComputers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 11:58 PM   #35
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Double Pole 50amp Breaker for 240, lets make it 120


Quote:
Originally Posted by DavesComputers View Post
ok so what about that small ground? do i have to upgrade it? if so im not sure if ill beable to pull another wire from the old panel in the basement up to this one

i doubt this is all going to be to code anyway so is it necessary?
The wires from the 50 amp feeder appear to be #8 awg Or #6 awg copper I can't tell and the ground looks like #10. If you can verify those for me that would help. I'm not going to beat up over the gray insulation on the equipment ground so long as it is thwn/thhn insulated and #10 awg copper. The two hots and neutral also need to be thwn/thhn. Please re-identify the equipment ground where it is exposed in the panel(s) to green use tape or a marker. If you do as I have said and the wiring passes and the overall installation is acceptable after we view it ..it should be to code barring the equipment ground color.

Electricity is nothing to take lightly and I don't think you feel that way or you wouldn't be here asking questions. So we want it safe and code compliant. If you can pull a new ground that would be fine and would eliminate a very minor violation.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 12-12-2011 at 12:03 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
30 amp, amp, rv plug, tt-30


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole vs. Double Pole Thermostat dforeid Electrical 14 08-26-2012 09:12 AM
Double 15 amp single pole mmacnz Electrical 6 04-17-2011 10:11 PM
Double pole breaker used as single pole WonderingOne Electrical 11 11-30-2010 01:37 AM
adding 40amp double pole 240v watsupbud Electrical 5 11-09-2010 07:40 AM
Slimline Vs. Tandem Vs. Double Pole turd hurder Electrical 1 06-23-2008 04:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.