Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2012, 11:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Share |
Default

Double Pole 15A on/off switch??


Hello again Gurus,

Will a double pole 15A 277v light switch work as a shut off for my air handler? I had to run all the electrical prior to them installing the central air and I wired a double pole switch from my 15A double pole breaker. I ran to the line/load ie black/white to the bottom posts on the switch. Thinking they can just run black/white from the air handler to the top. When the switch is UP> Live power to air handler. If it it's down (OFF), it means they can service the unit. Is my thinking correct on this? I couldn't find any other switches.

Thank You

~S

Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 11:42 AM   #2
Cruising into the sunset
 
JulieMor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 448
Default

Double Pole 15A on/off switch??


Are you talking about providing a disconnect to the A/C condenser unit outside your home? Or you talking about an air handling unit in a commercial application?

JulieMor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 11:49 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Default

Double Pole 15A on/off switch??


Nope, not the disconnect but the actual air handler. Need's to be on on/off switch much like a furnace or hot water heater. This is code for service and since my breaker/panel is not on the same level as the air handler. This should work, correct?
Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 12:37 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Double Pole 15A on/off switch??


It'll work, but a $10 pull-out disconnect will do the job MUCH easier and cheaper.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 02:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Default

Double Pole 15A on/off switch??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
It'll work, but a $10 pull-out disconnect will do the job MUCH easier and cheaper.
Thanks. I ran 14/2 as well. Some electricians say that 12-2 is better. Others sa 14/2 should be fine because air handlers only draw 2-3 amp max.
Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 04:01 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Double Pole 15A on/off switch??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Skelleyman View Post
Thanks. I ran 14/2 as well. Some electricians say that 12-2 is better. Others sa 14/2 should be fine because air handlers only draw 2-3 amp max.
For a 240v air handler #14 is FINE unless the distance is real far, like well over 100'.

You're right, 240v air handlers have almost no draw.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double pole vs single pole question Araucaria Electrical 5 04-24-2012 08:20 PM
Replacing single pole light switches with double pole bruce54 Electrical 43 04-15-2012 10:23 AM
Problem with 230 volt double pole single throw switch rdempsey Electrical 6 06-23-2011 09:51 AM
HELP.. trouble adding light to single pole switch RickDel Electrical 13 09-09-2009 10:18 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.