Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 08:59 AM   #1
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Share |
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Hey y'all,

This question is for a friend (yes really). I was over at his home last night and he showed me his newlt built garage. He and his son wired it, they are almost done and need it inspected soon.

He had covers off on a few because he was told the inspector will want to peek inside. Others told him no, he'll take the covers off if he wants.

I noticed that they doubled up on the ground wire to the receptacle. Ground to the metal box and ground coming in are terminated on the same screw on the receptacle. Is this Kosher? I thought it would have been better had they pigtailed and only had one wire on the screw.

What say ye?
(WA State, if it matters)

JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:10 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,415
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


One conductor per screw head. The grounds need to be connected to each other and pigtailed to the box and receptacle. Your friend has some work to do.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperST View Post
I noticed that they doubled up on the ground wire to the receptacle. Ground to the metal box and ground coming in are terminated on the same screw on the receptacle. Is this Kosher? I thought it would have been better had they pigtailed and only had one wire on the screw.
Do you mean like this where the end of the ground is going to the device(switch...receptacle)
Attached Thumbnails
double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?-electric-20box.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


like this?
Attached Thumbnails
double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?-eyyey.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:32 AM   #5
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Do you mean like this where the end of the ground is going to the device(switch...receptacle)
Not quite. No bare ground wires for one thing. He has a green wire screwed to the box ground with a spade connector on the other end connected onto the receptacle ground screw, shared with the ground wire coming in from the flex conduit.

It will work but I don't know if it will pass muster.
JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:33 AM   #6
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
One conductor per screw head. The grounds need to be connected to each other and pigtailed to the box and receptacle. Your friend has some work to do.
Ooops. I apparently scrolled by your post. That's what I thought. Are bare wires a requirement or does it matter?
JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:40 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperST View Post
the other end connected onto the receptacle ground screw, shared with the ground wire coming in from the flex conduit.
so the ground screw of the receptacle has two wires under it?
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:00 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Bare wires are not required, but all grounds connected together and one wire under each screw.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:11 AM   #9
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
so the ground screw of the receptacle has two wires under it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Bare wires are not required, but all grounds connected together and one wire under each screw.
Yes, two wires on the ground screw of the receptacle. Sounds unanimous that it won't fly. I hadn't seen it before so I was skeptical.

Thanks for the input.
JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:57 AM   #10
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 551
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


These kind of wire nuts may be useful when fixing this situation:

Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Wait a minute! If wires have spade lugs attached, can't a number of the spade lugs plus one wire curled around the screw share the same screw?
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,871
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


I don't understand why people don't use plastic boxes. Wouldn't have this issue to worry about.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:23 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
I don't understand why people don't use plastic boxes. Wouldn't have this issue to worry about.
plastic sucks...metal better
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:18 PM   #14
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
I don't understand why people don't use plastic boxes. Wouldn't have this issue to worry about.
It's a four bay garage/shop. Not commercial but setup for welding and wrenching. All metal conduit and boxes.
JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:20 PM   #15
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 182
Default

double ground connections or pigtail in receptacle outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperST
Hey y'all,

This question is for a friend (yes really). I was over at his home last night and he showed me his newlt built garage. He and his son wired it, they are almost done and need it inspected soon.

He had covers off on a few because he was told the inspector will want to peek inside. Others told him no, he'll take the covers off if he wants.

I noticed that they doubled up on the ground wire to the receptacle. Ground to the metal box and ground coming in are terminated on the same screw on the receptacle. Is this Kosher? I thought it would have been better had they pigtailed and only had one wire on the screw.

What say ye?
(WA State, if it matters)
is this the rough inspection, if it is no devices or covers can be installed

eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
20amp receptacle no ground wire moschmo Electrical 2 12-09-2010 10:11 AM
Replacing outlets: Pigtail, or don't pigtail? bassman99 Electrical 17 05-05-2009 02:50 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.