Double Gang Outlet Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2008, 08:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Double gang outlet box


Hey hoping someone can shed some light on me. I am gettin ready to install 4 new double gang outlet boxes and wire 8 new receptacles (2 in each of course). I understand how the wiring goes with single outlets. But how does it work with double. I know the concept of the current passing thru it, but how would I wire the ground. There's only one green screw on a receptacle, so how would I wire it to go thru each receptacle in the box and continue to the next box. Or do you do it some other way. Thx in advance

Advertisement

TaazKareem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 08:15 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Double gang outlet box


You can either:

  • Twist both bare wires together, and then use a crimp sleeve half-way out making a good electrical connection, and leaving 2 tails for connection to the outlets
  • Use a wire-nut on both leads, and "pigtail" 2 leads from that -- one to each outlet

Advertisement

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:49 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Double gang outlet box


You could leave your ground long go around one ground screw and then on to the other one. So one long wire picks up both.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:00 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Double gang outlet box


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
You could leave your ground long go around one ground screw and then on to the other one. So one long wire picks up both.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaazKareem View Post
so how would I wire it to go thru each receptacle in the box and continue to the next box.
You would still need a mechanical connection from box to box, a device cannot do this, thats why only one ground screw on each device.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 04:59 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 11:55 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts