Double Feed Problem - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2009, 02:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Double feed problem


So, Interesting problem happed, someone came to fix my panel and decided to rewire some stuff, now the garage electric stopped working or appeared so. The meter reading was jumping between 19 and 30 volts so i decided to start flipping breakers to see if I could locate it so as I flip one off the electric goes on in the garage and then off again when I flipped it on again. So now theres an additional sub panel to garage up stairs which also runs to the garage, when i keep the breaker off in the basement panel and on upstairs im only drawing 90v and when i do vice versa (sub panel breaker off) theres no electric at all. Trying to get it to work i figured maybe putting the basement breaker on another leg and now i have too much power because i'm getting 220v. any suggestions ?

Advertisement

jbsayad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 09:10 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,341
Rewards Points: 3,476
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Double feed problem


Call the electrician back who did the original work and get him to fix it.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 11:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Double feed problem


Is the garage detached from the house? If it is you are not allowed to have more than one feeder or branch circuit feeding the garage. Who ever wired this for you did it wrong. Not real sure I understand all of the statements you made so I must suggest you get a real electrician to come out and get this corrected. If the person that did this work is qualified then you can get them to fix their mistake. At no charge of course.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
double switch problem jim70 Electrical 5 05-02-2008 08:55 AM
RSS Feed Help DeeTee Site Feedback and Suggestions 1 08-30-2007 08:39 PM
Difficult Airlock Problem? beachbum Plumbing 4 01-15-2007 09:16 AM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts