Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2011, 08:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

double breaker wiring


how do i hook up a doublebreaker to a single plug for a stove do you split the main wire i need help please een if you know a little bit about this stuff


Last edited by palmerg31; 09-13-2011 at 08:57 PM.
palmerg31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:01 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

double breaker wiring


For a stove in the US you would have two hots, 1 neutral and one ground. The 2 hots would go to the breaker.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
palmerg31 (09-13-2011)
Old 09-13-2011, 09:03 PM   #3
jschaben
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: La Crosse, Kansas
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 502
Default

double breaker wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by palmerg31 View Post
how do i hook up a doublebreaker to a single plug for a stove do you split the main wire i need help please een if you know a little bit about this stuff

HI - With all due respect and concern for your safety and my peace of mind, I repectfully suggest you call an electrician. If I understand your circuit description you are likely dealing with a 220 Volt-30 to 50 amp circuit which is more than able to deal lethal blows. What I'm really saying is, "if you need to ask that question, you need to call someone".
__________________
John Schaben

"Where all think alike, no one is thinking very much"
jschaben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

double breaker wiring


yeah its two ffity breakers for the double breaker
palmerg31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:14 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

double breaker wiring


jim port your a electrician does this sound right the black and white to the breakers and the ground wire to the ground bar thats what i found out
palmerg31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

double breaker wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jschaben View Post
HI - With all due respect and concern for your safety and my peace of mind, I repectfully suggest you call an electrician. If I understand your circuit description you are likely dealing with a 220 Volt-30 to 50 amp circuit which is more than able to deal lethal blows. What I'm really saying is, "if you need to ask that question, you need to call someone".
I gots 240v at me breaker, is I safe. Don't I gotta touch both hots to get popped by 240v. What are the odds?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

double breaker wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by palmerg31 View Post
yeah its two ffity breakers for the double breaker
What size wire?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

double breaker wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by palmerg31 View Post
jim port your a electrician does this sound right the black and white to the breakers and the ground wire to the ground bar thats what i found out
Why is this not a 4 wire feed?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:19 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

double breaker wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by palmerg31 View Post
jim port your a electrician does this sound right the black and white to the breakers and the ground wire to the ground bar thats what i found out
You do not have enough wires in order to do this safely or to code. I don't know where you found that information but it is inaccurate.

I too am going to suggest you hire a licensed professional.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:21 PM   #10
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

double breaker wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You do not have enough wires in order to do this safely or to code. I don't know where you found that information but it is inaccurate.

I too am going to suggest you hire a licensed professional.
No argument there.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:22 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 152
Default

double breaker wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by palmerg31 View Post
jim port your a electrician does this sound right the black and white to the breakers and the ground wire to the ground bar thats what i found out
Ok, he just told you, you need 2 hots, 1 neutral, and 1 ground. That's 4 wires; black and red to hot, white neutral, green/bare ground. If you don't understand the difference between 2 and 3 wires, seriously, call an electrician.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:36 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

double breaker wiring


i got it i have four wires noi need to be a smarty pants my bf had worded it to me wrong i was trying to find out for him while he contnued to work so he would not have to quit and yeah we do have the wires hooked up right according to jim port thanks alot i really appreciate your help i was the one that had made the mistake and worded things wrong

palmerg31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C wiring manual says 14 awg & 20 amp breaker? brianosaur Electrical 13 06-17-2011 03:57 PM
double switch wiring problem avalanchehunter Electrical 5 12-13-2009 01:00 PM
Single breaker vs double pole breaker for MAIN tuckerz Electrical 11 11-16-2009 06:42 PM
breaker box wiring rick32 Electrical 8 11-29-2007 11:11 AM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.