Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2011, 01:09 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

doorbell transformer


do all doorbells have a transformer? I cant find one, cant even find the bell! trying to see if I can fix the door bell on a house I recently bought. has never worked since I have taken possesion.
no transformer or bell near button or electrical panel, where else should I look?

treerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 06:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 138
Default

doorbell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by treerat
do all doorbells have a transformer? I cant find one, cant even find the bell! trying to see if I can fix the door bell on a house I recently bought. has never worked since I have taken possesion.
no transformer or bell near button or electrical panel, where else should I look?
If your basement ceiling is still exposed I would look for the transformer attached to a junction box somewhere or attached to one of those plain pull string light switches that are common in unfinished spaces. You can also look for the wiring in ceiling as well. I usually start by going to the spot in the basement underneath the doorbell and start following the cable back to the transformer and it will also provide some hint as to where the chime unit is as well as they are all wired together (assuming not wireless).

clydesdale is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 06:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Mass
Posts: 87
Default

doorbell transformer


If there is a button by the door, remove it.
If it holds a battery (no wires to it), someone removed the wireless doorbell.
If there are wires behind it, the house was once wired for a doorbell, and over time it must have been removed.
Older homes had small individual bell wires, usually they were tan in color, and were easily damaged.
Homes built since the 60's typically have brown, "thermostat" wire installed for the doorbell.
Do It Right is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do smoke detector and doorbell transformer count as outlets? wj618 Electrical 5 01-28-2011 05:22 PM
Doorbell Transformer Cover? kcrossley2 Electrical 0 01-21-2010 09:22 AM
Doorbell Transformer fpeikin Electrical 14 11-30-2009 06:19 PM
Doorbell transformer BlueBSH Electrical 4 11-28-2009 08:13 PM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.