Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2010, 01:31 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,285
Rewards Points: 568
Default

Doorbell Question


You are missing the"trans" wire to the chimes assembly.This is the power from the bell xfmr.Most doorbells you buy are 10 volts.

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 01:33 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Doorbell Question


But why would it work fine now when the doorbell button is pressed.?
captainron19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 02:06 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,285
Rewards Points: 568
Default

Doorbell Question


If you aren't tired of this yet,try hooking the common back to the "trans"terminal and see what happens.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 02:09 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Doorbell Question


Which one is the common? I have 2 red wires near the chime and 2 white wires that were twisted together.

Also ... is it possible that the wires are on the wrong terminals on the transformer? I noticed the terminals are not marked in any way so we just put the red and white on there.
captainron19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 03:31 PM   #20
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Doorbell Question


maybe the bulb in the button went when the transformer did

Last edited by Tom Struble; 03-05-2010 at 03:33 PM.
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 04:13 PM   #21
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Doorbell Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by captainron19 View Post
Here is a picture of the current configuration working but the doorbell light is not on any more
Looks to me like one of those two red wires should be connected to the "transformer" screw.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 04:40 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,285
Rewards Points: 568
Default

Doorbell Question


touch the whites to the "trans" screw,and if they are ok,nothing buzzing or weird,connect them up and check button and light.

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 09:10 AM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.