Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 04:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Share |
Default

Doorbell Operation & Transformer


I am in process of reclaiming some attic space, closing it in to estabish as a closet. I noticed that the doorbell transformer and its power supply is located in attic space, next to an inoperable chimney. The transformer is warm to the touch.

I want to close this space in...but not sure what to do with the transformer and power source. Seems like I should move it inside the room and enclose it in a electrical power box.

Suggestions?
hunt4cleanair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:19 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Doorbell Operation & Transformer


The transformer can be moved but if the wires don't reach the new location then you need a box with exposed cover where you spliced on extra lengths of wire.

The transformer itself needs air for cooling. I suggest that if you do enclose it in a box then the box needs to:
1. Be made of metal,
2. Have an exposed cover,
3. Not have wall or ceiling insulation within 4 inches of it,
4. Be large enough so that six transformers of that size will fit inside.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Doorbell Operation & Transformer


Sounds like I should leave it as which is in attic space but exposed to the natural soffit/ridge vent circulation. Currently, its behind a wall with an 12" x 12" opening that I want to close in and use the space as interior space storage. Perhaps, leave it and make a trap door with access to the transformer. Would that work better than trying to move it inside?
hunt4cleanair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:26 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,197
Default

Doorbell Operation & Transformer


I personally prefer wireless door bells. People are afraid to come to my house, so our door bell rarely gets used. It's been about 5 years with the same batteries....

No wires....and we can put the dinger anywhere we want.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:50 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 608
Default

Doorbell Operation & Transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
People are afraid to come to my house.
Seattle2k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:20 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Unhappy

Doorbell Operation & Transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
I personally prefer wireless door bells. People are afraid to come to my house, so our door bell rarely gets used. It's been about 5 years with the same batteries....

No wires....and we can put the dinger anywhere we want.
Not a bad idea. I have a dinger in one place downstairs, the transformer upstairs and a circuit board of sorts in a downstairs utility room! Wires from the outside buttons are routed under the house, up over and probably areas I am still discovering!
hunt4cleanair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:39 PM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,197
Default

Doorbell Operation & Transformer


If you start looking into the wireless stuff, you start finding all sorts of options...for example, it's easier to add additional dingers....and you can tie them into a video monitor system...etc.

fun stuff.....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locating Doorbell Transformer RodC Electrical 13 11-13-2012 06:00 PM
Doorbell Transformer Problem oldfatnbroke Electrical 9 01-11-2012 09:43 PM
help, doorbell transformer inside electrical panel, PIC's blackhemi Electrical 10 07-20-2011 12:47 PM
doorbell transformer question Buzzman Electrical 3 06-17-2011 07:49 AM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.