Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2009, 04:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Doorbell Diode


Installed new chime unit, new doorbell button on front and regular doorbell on back. When diode is on front doorbell button, it constantly buzzes. I have spent two days on this and I'm a little frustrated. Help

hindelicato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 05:03 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Doorbell Diode


When diode is on front doorbell button, it constantly buzzes?

you mean diode as in light? i don't follow....

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 05:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Doorbell Diode


Quote:
Originally Posted by hindelicato View Post
Installed new chime unit, new doorbell button on front and regular doorbell on back. When diode is on front doorbell button, it constantly buzzes. I have spent two days on this and I'm a little frustrated. Help
Try reversing the wires!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 05:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Doorbell Diode


I'd say the bell end of your setup is wired incorrectly or you could try reversing the diode polarity.

Seems like when the bell is not pressed the chime is getting halfwave rectified DC from the xformer, hopefully of the proper polarity.
When the button is pressed this input terminal of the chime gets AC and this is the signal to ring for that particular button.

Can you post a schematic of the chime insides?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 02-15-2009 at 05:50 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 05:15 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Doorbell Diode


spent two days and didn't try reversing the wires? what else is there? lol

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 07:05 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,348
Default

Doorbell Diode


Never heard of diode on door bell? Are you sure it's a diode? what heppens if you leave it off?
What if you leave the button off? If it still buzzes then you could have a pinched/shorted wire.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 08:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Doorbell Diode


http://www.musicaldoorbell.com/howtoexisting.htm
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 10:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Doorbell Diode


The only other thing I can think of is to flip the diode over....diodes keep electric going in one direction.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 05:55 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Doorbell Diode


The half wave rectified detection circuit does not care about the diode polarity. At least according to the patent.

I had the same issue, and it turned out to be the transformer.
Although rated at the 16V required by the chime, it was putting out 19.9Volts

New transformer fixed the issue.
angryhippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 06:32 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

Doorbell Diode


Does the tone of the continuously sounding chime change when the button is pushed?

The chime unit and the diode button (I assume lighted button) may be incompatible with one another.

The diode is lit by the same current running in the same circuit that operates the chime. In most chimes when the button is not pushed and the diode is lit, the amount of current is not enough to sound the chime.

If the chime unit requires only a few milliamperes through the button circuit then the current that lights the diode may be enough to sound the chime.

In the above example, the transformer with the lesser voltage did not supply enough current to sound the chime when the button was not pushed and the diode was lit.

Or maybe the button was defective (if the diode did not light at all); the button being constantly on.

Flipping the diode over -- By exchanging the wires on the button terminals.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-10-2010 at 06:38 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 06:58 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Doorbell Diode


Diodes do not 'light'.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 07:44 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,212
Default

Doorbell Diode


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Diodes do not 'light'.
I heard they have a "Light Emitting Diode" that promises to be the new energy saver!
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 07:50 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Doorbell Diode


that's an LED not a rectifying diode.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 08:05 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,212
Default

Doorbell Diode


I've also seen them "emit" smoke.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 08:49 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

Doorbell Diode


Generally an LED will rectify AC just like any other diode. In typical usage the LED is the only thing (besides a current limiting resistor) in the circuit so it doesn't matter that the current flows only in one direction if you applied AC.

I'm told that there are LED's that light up one color when you apply DC one way and they light up a different color when you reverse the polarity. (And a blend of the two colors if you apply AC.) This does violate the definition of "diode".

>>> emit smoke

Too high a transformer voltage will burn out a doorbell button light of any kind. A common reason for increasing the voltage is too thin wires and/or too long a distance from transformer to button to chime.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-10-2010 at 09:08 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doorbell wiring problem schulte24 Electrical 9 08-28-2008 08:40 PM
Installed doorbell - chiming not right proofer Electrical 3 07-08-2008 03:04 PM
how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup joeyboy General DIY Discussions 7 12-16-2007 12:53 PM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM
Tried replacing doorbell....now it doesn't work. ConstantChange Electrical 9 11-18-2007 10:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.