Doorbell Connection Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 09:09 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Doorbell connection question

I am trying to replace a doorbell chime box in an existing home with a front and back door bell switch. someone removed the old one without labeling the wires.
There are 2 whites and 2 reds at the chime box. It it touch the two whites together i get a little spark. If I touch any other combination of wires I see nothing. if i touch one white wire to the transforer connection point on chime and the other to front it will chime. Of course the doorbell switch is not pressed in so this is not the correct connection. I would greatly appreciate advice on which wire to hook where.
PS: I checked both doorbell switches and each has a red and white wire attached.


Dhangebr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 01:42 AM   #2
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 787
Rewards Points: 516

Doorbell connection question

I have fixed zero doorbells ....sorry


carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 01:58 AM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 30,763
Rewards Points: 6,642

Doorbell connection question
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:07 AM   #4
DIY staff

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 24,575
Rewards Points: 7,652

Doorbell connection question

You should have 6 wires----not 4----2 from the transformer---2 for each door----

2 transformer wires to the power terminals on the chime---

remaining wires to the front door/ back door terminals
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:40 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
rrolleston's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,946
Rewards Points: 1,010
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston

Doorbell connection question

Have you checked at the chime and transformer what is connected there to see if they are all connected from both switches. Do you have a multimeter? Pictures of the connections at both buttons transformer and chime would be helpful.
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locating Doorbell Transformer RodC Electrical 13 11-13-2012 07:00 PM
Converting a wired to a wireless doorbell ohman Electrical 12 10-22-2012 11:20 AM
doorbell transformer question Buzzman Electrical 3 06-17-2011 08:49 AM
Noobish Duct Connection Question jonathan03 HVAC 4 12-30-2008 08:52 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts