Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2011, 11:36 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Posts: 108
Share |
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Hi,
I have gone thru the postings and I am currently stuck what to try before I try replacing parts.
My doorbell buzzes when pressed. With the button taken off, the bare wires still make only a buzz even after sanded for possible corrosion.
The voltage IF I followed the directions on the voltmeter properly!?..reads 21.3...at the bell and coming out of the transformer...so the wiring is fine.

IS this voltage too high?

bergerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:41 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,963
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Depends on what the transformer is supposed to output. Most are 24 volt transformers, some are 48. If the inside unit is buzzing, how old is it, same for the transformer and doorbell switch.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:41 AM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by bergerdude View Post
My doorbell buzzes when pressed.
Isn't that what it's SUPPOSED to do?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:42 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Posts: 108
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


This is the same problem in 2 years, 4 year old house. Last time they changed out the transformer....do I start there?
bergerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:50 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Posts: 108
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


It's a doorBELL not a door BUZZER..lol. So the doorBELL should "ding" not "buzz.". Sigh...I guess I need to be realllllly specific for some.

I can see NO stamp for a 24v or 16v on the transformer itself....

Do I replace the transformer or the chime unit first?
thanks
bergerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:54 AM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Many doorbells use a 16 volt transformer. What voltage is the doorbell labeled for?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:08 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


If you read the secondary of the transformer without a load - no button pressed, then a 16 volt transformer may read about 21 volts.
Try reading the secondary side while someone presses and holds the button.
Next, take the cover off the chime box and watch the plunger. Have someone press the button. The plunger should pop out and hit the chime but then retract slightly. The spring is what holds the plunger back.
Next, check to see if the plunger is binding. Flick it with your finger. It should float back and forth a little.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Posts: 108
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


ah I looked at the chime/bell and there were two plungers. One had the top and bottom plastic spring holder/caps plungers MELTED off and the spring was loose in the cover.

That plunger was frozen with the bottom plastic spring holder/cap melted to the chime bar...hence the other side would strike but was muted by the melted one. did it probably freeze up and get hot...melting the plastic ends?

Am I done or could the transformer be bad and this caused the failure?
The transformer is in a tough area to get to....if I don't need to, I'd rather leave it alone. :-)

right now the bell goes "dong" since the "ding" is still frozen. :-)

I will need to get a new chime eventually, I just don't want a fire hazard.

Thanks!
bergerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:41 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,963
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Sounds like someone laid on the button, and when the coil got stuck, or due to multiple striking, that can cause it. You do not have to replace the transformer, just the bell unit in the hall. Some units come with the buttons, bell unit, and transformer. They are not that much, since you can get the bell/chime unit itself for under $20.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:52 PM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,699
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by bergerdude View Post
It's a doorBELL not a door BUZZER..lol. So the doorBELL should "ding" not "buzz.". Sigh...I guess I need to be realllllly specific for some.

I can see NO stamp for a 24v or 16v on the transformer itself....
The Mouse was making a joke

Look at the xformer closely, I have never seen one that was not marked with a rating.

Often the problem is the bell/chime is coated with dust, they are dust magnets. Blow the unit clean with compressed air (or a reversed vacuum cleaner). Check the that the hammer that hits the gong moves freely.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:58 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
The Mouse was making a joke
No I wasn't. I was being mean, vindictive and rude.
I hadn't had my 5 pots of coffee yet, what can I say?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
Code05 (08-17-2011), gregzoll (08-17-2011)
Old 08-17-2011, 05:21 PM   #12
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,231
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Let's face reality in today's world: A new transformer, or a new chime unit may cost you as much or more than one of the newer, very nice remote doorbells units.
The chime unit on these only need to be mounted where you desire it to be, then button mounted on the door(s) where you want them to be, and put batteries in them.
NO hard wiring to be done.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Thurman For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-14-2013)
Old 08-17-2011, 05:48 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,104
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by bergerdude View Post
ah I looked at the chime/bell and there were two plungers. One had the top and bottom plastic spring holder/caps plungers MELTED off and the spring was loose in the cover.

That plunger was frozen with the bottom plastic spring holder/cap melted to the chime bar...hence the other side would strike but was muted by the melted one. did it probably freeze up and get hot...melting the plastic ends?

Am I done or could the transformer be bad and this caused the failure?
The transformer is in a tough area to get to....if I don't need to, I'd rather leave it alone. :-)

right now the bell goes "dong" since the "ding" is still frozen. :-)

I will need to get a new chime eventually, I just don't want a fire hazard.

Thanks!
Are you going to replace it ?
Or have a go at fixing it ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 09:22 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


The bell unit won't overheat unless the button at the door got stuck or someone held the button in.

Jamming of the plunger or dust by itself won't cause the bell unit to overheat.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-17-2011 at 09:24 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 08:43 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Posts: 108
Default

doorbell buzz troubleshoot HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
No I wasn't. I was being mean, vindictive and rude.
I hadn't had my 5 pots of coffee yet, what can I say?

DM
No problem eitherway, I appreciate all input.
humor is always appreciated especially when the house is seemingly falling down around me from week to week. The joys of home ownership!

I got the one plunger working, and I will replace the unit entirely when I am able. HD's replacement transformer looked the same as the one that is up in the rafters surrounded by conduit and ductwork. I'm sure it is stamped somewhere, but not where I could see.

Thanks everyone again for the help

bergerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doorbell Diode hindelicato Electrical 15 10-30-2010 10:52 PM
Doorbell Question captainron19 Electrical 21 03-05-2010 04:40 PM
how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup joeyboy General DIY Discussions 7 12-16-2007 12:53 PM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM
Tried replacing doorbell....now it doesn't work. ConstantChange Electrical 9 11-18-2007 10:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.