Doorbell - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2009, 11:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
heatherberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gator Nation
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

doorbell


I have a wired doorbell that I am trying to disconnect and my husband ususally does all electrical. However, he is gone for the day and I am doing it myself. I have run into a problem.

I have located the circuit to turn it off. I have used an electrical meter to verify the current is off. I took the switch outside the door off and put the two wires together in a wire nut and when I turned the current back on the doorbell went crazy on it's own. So, obviously the two wires cannot be put together. Should I put a wire nut on each individual wire?

Then should I disconnect the wires in the actual chime box on the wall in the hall? There are three wires in that.

And i am even embarrased to ask this but, does the circuit that is in the button also belong to the actual chime box? I have used the electrical meter and it is not showing a current but I am so afraid to undo those wires.

So, how do I get these wires terminated? I guess thats the long and the short of it.

Any help appreciated.

Advertisement

heatherberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:51 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

doorbell


Twisting the wires together at the button is the same thing as standing there with the button pressed in. The buzzing you heard at the chime unit is the result.

If you are going to disconnect the whole thing, then you really need to locate the transformer, and disconnect that first.

That way, you won't have any "hot" wires left in the walls (although, at 16 Volts, it ain't too hot) ...

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:53 AM   #3
Newbie
 
heatherberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gator Nation
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

doorbell


What is the transformer? Is that the chime box?
heatherberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 12:00 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

doorbell


Quote:
Originally Posted by heatherberry View Post
What is the transformer? Is that the chime box?
Sometime the transformer is in a box under the chimes.
Remove the chimes from the wall, and you may see it.
Other times, the transformer is located next to the electrical panel.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 12:16 PM   #5
Newbie
 
heatherberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gator Nation
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

doorbell


Okay,

I found the trasformer. It is in the chime box and it says "Trans" and has all that copper wiring wrapping around in there like you see in old radios.

Now, It shouldn't be "hot" if the button isn't making it chime right? The circuit is all the same?

And when I un-screw all the wires from in there, so i wire nut them individualy? And then do i wire nut the ones on the exterior of the home individually?

And then it's okay to turn the electricity back on?

I really appreciate the help. i love to learn new things. So, i am grateful for the patience. I am really afraid of electricity and just don't wan to get zapped. My 3 yr old would freak out.
heatherberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 12:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

doorbell


http://image.become.com/imageserver/...ransformer.jpg

Some doorbells have diodes in them to select a different tone depending on which button you press, so then it gets a little tricky troubleshooting these setups.

The energy in a 24 vac circuit is not enough to harm you as long as your hands are dry. The coil in the chime can give you a good shock, though, sometimes.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-08-2009 at 12:28 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 12:30 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

doorbell


Actually, you found the transformer terminal. The actual transformer can be located just about anywhere, like in a closet, at the panel box, or on a junction box in a basement or attic. Even though they say to not locate them in an attic, I've seen lots of `em up there.

The picture posted by yoyizit is typical.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 12:41 PM   #8
Newbie
 
heatherberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gator Nation
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

doorbell


so I have undone the wires in the chime box. There were two. I have wire nutted them both individually and the wires in the front for the button are nutted, if that is a term, and I am assuming I can let the current rip.

Now I have one more question. If the wire nuts are a little too big, can I use black electrical tape instead?
heatherberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 12:48 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

doorbell


Quote:
Originally Posted by heatherberry View Post
can I use black electrical tape instead?
Nah, get smaller wire nuts.

If 'former voltage drops to zero when you power up there is a problem, but it may drop 20% or so. These types of 'formers, possibly similar to 'saturable reactors', cannot be damaged by a short.

BTW, do the frequent lightning strikes in your state ever fry some of your gators? One danger canceling out another?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-08-2009 at 12:56 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 12:56 PM   #10
Newbie
 
heatherberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gator Nation
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

doorbell


Ever had fried gator tail? Pretty smokin' stuff. However, I do believe we were Natianol Champions so I think we did the fryin' last season. I do think you were referring to the Gators right? Not literal alligators.

I turned power back on and everything is good. I think I'll trun it off and wait till my hsuban get home. I looked for smaller wire nuts and couldn't find any in all his tools so I'll take care of it later.

Thanks for all the replies. I found a new favorite site. I love doin stuff myself and I will be referring to this site a lot. You guys are awesome.

Heather

Advertisement

heatherberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doorbell Diode hindelicato Electrical 15 10-30-2010 11:52 PM
Doorbell DIY_JC General DIY Discussions 3 05-30-2009 05:17 PM
how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup joeyboy General DIY Discussions 7 12-16-2007 01:53 PM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-22-2007 12:08 AM
Tried replacing doorbell....now it doesn't work. ConstantChange Electrical 9 11-18-2007 11:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts