Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 04:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Doorbell


Is it normal for a doorbell chime to be hooked up to main without a circuit breaker. I've tried every breaker and my voltage tester beeps no matter what.

djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:18 PM   #2
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Doorbell


Doorbells usually have a transformer. A non-contact voltage tester easily pick up phantom voltage. Kill the main if you are really worried. I'd look for the transformer and trace it back to find the right breaker.

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Doorbell


Thanks, I have found the transformer. It is stuck to the side of an octagonal junction box nearby. I see the wires coming out of the load side that must go to the chime.

My new chime isn't quite working. It's a two note chime, and it makes the second note but while it is trying to make the first note it just buzzes quietly a bit. It says it needs 16 VAC but my transformer is measuring 12 VAC with my multimeter. Is that my problem?
djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:50 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Doorbell


Yes that would be your problem, you need an transformer with an output of 16V.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 09:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Doorbell


i have douplex i need to installe door bell,chime for the basment and release the electric latch from inside i need wiriing plan pls

Last edited by jena; 06-14-2011 at 10:14 PM.
jena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 10:26 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Doorbell


Quote:
Originally Posted by jena View Post
i have douplex i need to installe door bell and chime for the basment and release the electric latch from inside the basment i need wiriing plan pls
i allready have bell and chime and release the electric latch for another two appartment
jena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:11 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Doorbell


Do not install illuminated doorbell buttons or electronic chimes with a voltage rating less than what your transformer is delivering.

Mechanical chimes (with glockenspiel bars, hollow tubes, bells, etc.) can take a little overvoltage. Overvoltage may be needed to make the chime work if the wires are too thin or the distance to the door is too great. But an illuminated doorbell will still burn out if the voltage supplied is too great.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doorbell Diode hindelicato Electrical 15 10-30-2010 11:52 PM
Doorbell Question captainron19 Electrical 21 03-05-2010 05:40 PM
Doorbell Transformer fpeikin Electrical 14 11-30-2009 07:19 PM
how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup joeyboy General DIY Discussions 7 12-16-2007 01:53 PM
Tried replacing doorbell....now it doesn't work. ConstantChange Electrical 9 11-18-2007 11:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.