Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2010, 12:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

door chime and transformer


Because I didn't know what I was doing, I bought a 16V Carlon door chime but found out when it didn't work that I had a 10V transformer. Am I correct that this is the reason that it didn't work? Both the door bell and door button definitely work.

However, the door chime box states "for new installation a 16-volt, 10VA Carlon transformer is required #DH965". What does 10VA mean? I cannot find a 10V door chime anywhere.
Thanks,
Linda


Last edited by linda moggio; 02-11-2010 at 12:51 PM.
linda moggio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 03:22 PM   #2
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

door chime and transformer


10 VA is just the size of the transformer; how much it can supply. Some people have 2 door chimes in their house and need a larger transformer.

You are correct though, you will need a 16 V transformer. The 10 V one is only for actual doorbells, and buzzers. If it is easy to get to (not buried in the attic) it is quite simple to replace.

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 03:36 PM   #3
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 500
Default

door chime and transformer


Mine is atop a light fixture in my unfinished basement.
__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 03:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 150
Default

door chime and transformer


I had the exact same problem! Replaced my existing transformer (mounted on the side of my electrical box) with this:

http://www.homedepot.ca/webapp/wcs/s...k=P_PartNumber

and it fixed it right up.
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 09:52 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

door chime and transformer


Thanks, JunkCollector. I guess my old door chime was compatible with the 10V transformer. Re 10VA, I guess I don't need it because I have only one chime. I'm off to buy a 16V transformer.

Also, DRTBK4ever and Burnt03, my transformer is attached to a light on my basement overhead 2X6. Been there since 1928.

Thanks.
linda moggio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 09:54 PM   #6
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

door chime and transformer


va= watts
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 10:14 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

door chime and transformer


Oh! Didn't know! Meant to Google VA but didn't get around to it.
Tks

linda moggio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to find out how to wire a dimmable light transformer Maleko Electrical 9 02-07-2010 01:07 AM
transformer questions Steelhead Electrical 8 10-25-2009 08:39 PM
How to install Aprilaire transformer? Studly HVAC 9 09-18-2009 09:44 AM
Comfortmaker RPJ - Bad Transformer? olgranddad HVAC 2 12-26-2008 11:10 AM
Central Ac transformer question Rschrei518 HVAC 4 10-20-2008 08:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.