Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2009, 09:00 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Share |
Default

Don't know anything about electrical work but need help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by damage311 View Post
Speedey, we have been living here for 11 months the house is fairly new and the wiring is all new and I do agree, I should't be doing this myself but I am here to learn not hurt myself. Yoyizit, I have nothing else on that outlet except the A/C and I don't have a meter. How can I tell if it is the unit itself. The first two weeks I had it, everything was running fine.
http://www.wholesalesolar.com/pdf.fo...ower-table.pdf

Without a meter I guess you could plug in a load equivalent to that of the AC in the AC outlet and see if the symptom repeats. Each 100w incand. bulb = 0.83 A. What's written on the nameplate for the AC? It might only pull 4A or so.

You could also Google your make and model along with the exact phrase
"trips breaker"

I assume you mean your panel breaker and not the button on the huge fat plug that ACs now have.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 09-04-2009 at 09:14 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 09:21 PM   #17
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,566
Default

Don't know anything about electrical work but need help.


Does the breaker have any type on pushbutton on it? If so, it is either a GFI, or much more likely, an arc-fault.

Like Petey stated, arc-fault breakers are notorious for nuisance tripping where motors are involved. A/C units have at least two motors.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 04:19 AM   #18
Familyman
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: louisiana
Posts: 18
Default

Don't know anything about electrical work but need help.


if it was a cheap a/c, you could be having comp problems already. seen it happen many times. myself included. had one last about a month.
i would check for loose connections from breaker to receptacle.

matt700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does your job require a permit? housedocs General DIY Discussions 203 12-01-2010 07:28 AM
How to Fix Electrical Outlets That Don't Work limitdiy Electrical 11 08-08-2009 09:44 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM
Is it right that an owner must be licensed to perform work joey b Electrical 45 12-16-2008 10:16 AM
Am I being overcharged for general construction work? baloney12 Building & Construction 2 07-11-2007 06:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.