Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2009, 07:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

Does a welding generator need to be grounded?


Hi,

I am new using a welding generator and I was wondering if someone could tell me if the chassis of the welding generator needs to be grounded? I need to use this in a field where there is no structure grounding. I also do not plan to use the auxiliary outlets, just the welding equipment. The document that came with the welder makes mention to grounding for auxiliary power, thus the confusion

Thanks for your help in advance.

mchinea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 08:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Does a welding generator need to be grounded?


In welding mode so long as you have grounded the equipment to the welder, you should be fine.

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 09:02 PM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Does a welding generator need to be grounded?


Because the machine is stand-alone, connecting it to the earth will make no difference in the operation or safety of it, either for welding or receptacle power.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 07:59 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Does a welding generator need to be grounded?


Thanks for the reply.

So just to clarify, The document says:

"Grounding the generator when connecting to home, shop, or farm equipment"

Does this implies that if you are delivery power to home or shop or welding farm equipment; That you need to ground to a water pipe or the tractor depending on what your working on?

Also what about
"Grounding the generator to a truck or trailer frame"

Why would you need to ground the generator to the bed of a pickup or trailer frame?

Sorry for the dumb questions, I just want to make sure I dont get zapped in the process...

Thanks!
mchinea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 10:56 AM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,990
Default

Does a welding generator need to be grounded?


It depends.. this is a subject that gets rather complicated. My opinion is it really is black and white if we keep things simple. This particular article is the simplest explanation I've come across. It is also written by very good sources.

http://files.aws.org/technical/facts/FACT-29.PDF
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 11:43 AM   #6
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Does a welding generator need to be grounded?


Not to hijack the thread, but the only way for current to flow to the earth through a person from an ungrounded generator would be through capacitive coupling. I am not convinced there can be enough capacitance to cause a significant or even noticeable shock. I have had this discussion with other "earth ground cultists", but it is too ingrained in their minds.

Stubbie, have you ever heard or read, in your grounding experiences, of anyone ever actually receiving a shock from 120 V through a capcitive-only circuit to earth? I simply do not buy the idea that voltages can swing wildly in reference to the earth on small local systems. Any thoughts?
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 12:47 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,990
Default

Does a welding generator need to be grounded?


I would agree...it would be highly unlikely if not impossible. Most generator welding electrocutions occur in wet/dry environments when gloves aren't worn and you come in contact with the electrode holder (stick welders) and the work piece when it is bonded with the ground clamp to the generator. But to receive a shock from the welder thru capacitive coupling thru you to dirt is probably not going to happen.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 02:49 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Does a welding generator need to be grounded?


Thanks for the confirmation!!! I really appreciate it.

mchinea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, ground, welding


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounded electrode on water pipe TW Lucas Electrical 7 05-12-2008 11:33 AM
Outlets are not grounded...what to do about it? OldHouse963 General DIY Discussions 10 04-14-2008 08:36 AM
yet another welding question amakarevic Tools 4 02-28-2008 09:38 AM
MIG welding amakarevic Tools 28 02-20-2008 08:56 PM
220V Welding Circut Randell Tarin Electrical 10 02-07-2008 09:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.