Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 08:36 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Share |
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


We installed a new natural gas furnace last year on its own 15amp circuit per installer's request. I'm up in Michigan and we've been cold the last month or so and the furnace understandably runs quite a lot. My power bill came yesterday and its up significantly, over a month where there has been no change in our usage habits (we were even gone for a week). HVAC is not my thing, how much electricity do they really draw? More curiosity than anything! Thanks for your thoughts


Last edited by moneymgmt; 01-13-2010 at 08:47 AM.
moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 08:59 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


The blower in a forced hot air furnace can use a good amount of power, sometimes in the 500 to 700 watt range depending on size of furnace/house.

Does yours have air conditioning or humidification or dehumidification built in? You may need to see that these components are adjusted properly. Dehumid. is the same as AC mechanics wise and there is no harm shutting that part off in winter.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-13-2010 at 09:03 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 09:14 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


Its a small 1150sf house, using a 95% 70,000btu furnace. No humidifier on it (to my wife's dismay) and the outside A/C unit runs on a separate circuit. I figured the blower running so often could chew up a fair amount of power, just looking to understand it better. Thanks for your reply!
moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 06:41 PM   #4
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


Look at your bill. It will probably have something like a "read code". This could be "actual" or "estimated". Then look at the bills from the last few months. They are probably "estimated" and the most recent one is "actual".

Everyone is getting a big bill lately including myself which got a double bill... because the POCO was expecting to be able to raise rates... so they estimated everyone low for a few months in order to slap everyone with the big bill once their rate increase got approved. Sleezy yeah but that's what you get from a monopoly.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 07:10 PM   #5
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,750
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


What kind or fan?

DC variable speed or a conventional AC fan? the Dc will save you money on operation especially if you want comfort.

How do you expect to get power and distribution from anyone else that is not controlled by state laws and limited profits that must be proven later?
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 07:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


I stopped playing the estimate game after getting hosed long ago, I check to make sure readings are actual each month. I'll have to check on the fan, i recall it is a 2-stage furnace but don't know that specifies the fan type... I'll check into it.
moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 09:36 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


That fan running continuously can indeed add to your power bill. What is the kWh usage for the current bill vs the last couple of months? Did you put up a bunch of Xmas lights?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 06:21 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


Bah humbug, no lights this year! KWH usage for the last 4 months has been 557, 372, 455 (Oct. was cold too), 382. In addition to the furnace running more I realized my wife put out her little 1.5gal humidifier... and it runs almost 24-7. So between that little power drain and the furnace running more often I'm fairly confident those are the two culprits. Wasn't too worried about it, more or less trying to see how bad a furnace can be on the electrical system

Thanks for you replies!
moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:58 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


My useage very rarely goes below 1200 kwh a month
All time high was Christmas display in 2006 = 3642 kwh
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 12:56 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


If the furnace can blow hot air for short periods of time instead of warm air for long periods of time, the electrical consumption of the fan is reduced.

1. I don't know how to make that happen,

2. Temperature in the room will fluctuate more.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 01:27 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Does a natural gas furnace have large power draw?


Quote:
Originally Posted by moneymgmt View Post
Its a small 1150sf house, using a 95% 70,000btu furnace.
May I get your HDDs for last Dec.
http://www.degreedays.net/
and the therms/BTUs you used which are on your Dec. gas bill?

Thanks.
Using 6 BTUs per sf per HDD is typical.

Here's some typ. power consumptions
http://www.eia.doe.gov/emeu/consumpt...on_tables.html

http://www.wholesalesolar.com/pdf.fo...ower-table.pdf


Last edited by Yoyizit; 01-16-2010 at 01:32 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 02:24 AM
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM
20yr old RUUD Furnace Not Turing On marsam HVAC 6 10-31-2009 08:40 PM
Natural gas forced furnace - Burner shuts off prematurely scooter100 HVAC 9 01-25-2009 10:46 AM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 07:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.