Does A Microwave Need A Dedicated Plug? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2009, 07:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


Ok, I have an 'over the range' microwave. The plug/cord extends up and into a cabinet where there is a plug. Standard sized faceplate, but there is only one outlet vs. the 'normal' two. I'd like to use it as a two plug outlet to get power for a nearby project. So if it is feasible, I'd swap out the single for a dual. Any problems with doing that?

Advertisement

steve771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 07:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


There is no real problem with that.

In my area we install duplex receps for the micros all the time.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 07:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


What is the nearby project?
How much power does the microwave pull?
Is it a 15a or 20a circuit?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 08:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


Quote:
What is the nearby project?
Undercabinet lights??


I hope it's not an industrial broiler
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 09:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


I have 'pot shelves' and want to run power to them for a (single) air purifier. Like the kind that have a HEPA filter/fan type of thing. It would be more out of the way, and I think they work better when elevated. The microwave plug is the closest & I could avoid snaking wire that way. I believe the microwave is 1000W.

Thanks for the input guys!
steve771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 10:23 PM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


Quote:
'pot shelves'
Isn't that illegal?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 11:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


lol, yeah, I suppose, depending on YOUR definition. I figured someone would mention that. But hmmm... how would you know? Experience in that area?

For those who don't know (and I didn't until I moved here), pot shelves are basically the tops of 'built out' areas in a house. For example, my coat closet & pantry do not go all the way to the ceiling, rather they stop at about 7 feet, thus creating a 'pot shelf' between their top & my ceiling. So called, I believe, because the ladies like to stick potted plants up there.
steve771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 07:26 AM   #8
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


Leave the microwave circuit alone. At a rating of 1000W the unit is actually consuming about 1450W and on a 15A breaker you are only talking about 1800W. If you have any lights or fans or electronic filters associated with the microwave you will max out quickly and additional power loads tacked on can cause a damaging 'brownout' condition for the microwave. Tie into one of your ceiling lights or a counter outlet instead.
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 08:57 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Grampa Bud View Post
At a rating of 1000W the unit is actually consuming about 1450W
How do you figure???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 09:34 AM   #10
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


Researching different manufacturers specs. Not just the rating plates
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 10:40 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Grampa Bud View Post
Researching different manufacturers specs. Not just the rating plates
I still don't get it but whatever.

If it says 1000 watts it is 1000 watts.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 12:02 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Pittsburgh)
Posts: 442
Rewards Points: 264
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


The 1000 watt rating is the "power" rating of the microwave energy the over is capable of. In other words it creates 1000 watts of microwave power. It is not a rating of what energy the appliance consumes. The lights, touch pad circuits, fans and displays are not included in the calculation either. There is also some loss when converting the electric energy to microwave energy.

Rege
RegeSullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 02:41 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


Ok, checked the breaker box & it is a 15 amp. Plus, I dug out the microwave manual, and in bold letters it says to not plug in anything else but the microwave. Probably could still do it, but I tend to err on the side of caution. So, guess I'll look into snaking wire from another outlet. Thanks anyways guys!
steve771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 04:44 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RegeSullivan View Post
The 1000 watt rating is the "power" rating of the microwave energy the over is capable of. In other words it creates 1000 watts of microwave power. It is not a rating of what energy the appliance consumes. The lights, touch pad circuits, fans and displays are not included in the calculation either. There is also some loss when converting the electric energy to microwave energy.

Rege
Fine, but if the plate on the back says 120v/1000w then it consumes 1000 watts at full power everything considered.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 06:02 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Does a microwave need a dedicated plug?


15A circuit for microwave; Don't put anything else on the circuit.
I ran a dedicated 20A for mine, but used a duplex receptacle, so I can still add a small appliance if need be.

The air purifier could draw 5 or more amps.

Don't snake appliance cords through concealed spaces, like cabinets, etc, and especially not where they might get damaged. Never, ever use an extension cord on a permanent basis!!

FW

Advertisement

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
microwave dedicated circuit HABSFAN2006 Electrical 7 02-26-2009 12:43 PM
20 amp plug MikeyP Electrical 6 01-03-2009 10:04 PM
OTR Microwave installation bfarber Appliances 3 12-22-2008 08:55 PM
Microwave dedicated circuit? DIYGST Electrical 2 12-03-2008 03:08 PM
Microwave Outlet Move Rsinc25 Electrical 3 11-22-2007 04:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts