Does This Lighting Diagram Work? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2014, 06:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


Attached is a document of a wiring diagram. Does this wiring diagram make sense? Having a hard time understanding one of the diagrams I found online.

Thanks,
Mark
Attached Thumbnails
Does this lighting diagram work?-outlet-wiring.png  

Advertisement

Mdwagner2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 07:03 PM   #2
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 899
Rewards Points: 552
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdwagner2 View Post
Attached is a document of a wiring diagram. Does this wiring diagram make sense? Having a hard time understanding one of the diagrams I found online.

Thanks,
Mark
Yes. There are also other ways to wire it. Black, white and ground from one receptacle to the next.
I just realized the title of your post was lighting diagram. That would not be the way to wire switched lights if you wanted a hot outlet all the time.

Advertisement


Last edited by Robpo; 06-15-2014 at 07:29 PM.
Robpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 08:12 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robpo View Post
Yes. There are also other ways to wire it. Black, white and ground from one receptacle to the next.
I just realized the title of your post was lighting diagram. That would not be the way to wire switched lights if you wanted a hot outlet all the time.
Sorry Lighting Diagram was probably the wrong title (I was going to add a few more outlets and then switches with lights but did not want it to get redundant.)

From what I understand 14/2 NM-B wire I could have 8-9 wires coming in on a 120V circuit. I am replacing some old tube and knob wiring and its a lot easier to do it with a junction box than using a more traditional method.

Here is a follow up question, does the wire running to the circuit board just need to be 14/2? Are you allowed to mix wires (if one of my outlets was 12/2 would it need to be on a different circuit or could it be in the same junction box?)
Mdwagner2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 09:39 PM   #4
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 899
Rewards Points: 552
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdwagner2 View Post
Sorry Lighting Diagram was probably the wrong title (I was going to add a few more outlets and then switches with lights but did not want it to get redundant.)

From what I understand 14/2 NM-B wire I could have 8-9 wires coming in on a 120V circuit. I am replacing some old tube and knob wiring and its a lot easier to do it with a junction box than using a more traditional method.

Here is a follow up question, does the wire running to the circuit board just need to be 14/2? Are you allowed to mix wires (if one of my outlets was 12/2 would it need to be on a different circuit or could it be in the same junction box?)
It depends on where the wires would be going to(apliances, lights). If you are going to use 15 amp circuit breakers you can run 14 guage wire or larger. If you are using 20 amp circuit breakers you cannot use 14guage wire only 12 guage or larger. You can use 15 or 20 amp breakers in your panel.
Robpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 03:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Spyrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


Ive been told that dumping your ground to a box is bad, and shouldnt be done, unless the box itself is specifically grounded properly?
Spyrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 03:29 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,036
Rewards Points: 2,870
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


What do you mean dumping the ground to a box? The ground is only for the event like a fault or short circuit. Also a metal box is required to be bonded to ground.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 05:58 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Spyrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


I'm basing my comment on the diagram. It looks like the ground is wired to the box, and not a ground running from the electrical wiring. I was under the understanding (I'm NOT an electrician, so bare with my ignorance), that grounding to a metal box that itself is not grounded to a wired ground is both bad, and against code in many places in North America ?
Spyrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:23 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,036
Rewards Points: 2,870
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


I am not seeing what you are seeing. However, if metal, the box should be bonded to ground. If the incoming power did not contain a ground the rest of the receptacles could not be grounded even if they had a grounding conductor. The junction box would be floating.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:27 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Spyrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


It could just be a diagram error...
Attached Images
 
Spyrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 07:51 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,036
Rewards Points: 2,870
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


I think that was meant to come out of the conduit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 08:12 PM   #11
Electrican
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,119
Rewards Points: 1,582
Default

Does this lighting diagram work?


Diagram error

Advertisement

Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulling permits -- getting caught on previous UN-permitted work and effect on taxes jpfulton248 General DIY Discussions 11 01-22-2013 04:58 PM
DIY Electrical work in New Jersey electures Electrical 42 12-19-2012 04:19 PM
Can homeowner (or friend) rewire in California? cvandewater Electrical 34 01-14-2012 01:04 PM
Where are the "Carpenters" ???? wrldruler Carpentry 14 09-11-2008 08:37 AM
Wiring diagram, would this work firemanpato Electrical 10 01-07-2008 05:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts