Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2008, 08:47 PM   #1
Rze
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Does it exist


Looking to find out is a cable exist that has at least 7 wires.....Looking to create a snake that has three plugs on one end associated with three receptacles on the other end. basically three extension cords in one run.

Rze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 08:58 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,841
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Does it exist


I'm sure it exists, but good luck finding any.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:04 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Does it exist


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rze View Post
Looking to find out is a cable exist that has at least 7 wires.....Looking to create a snake that has three plugs on one end associated with three receptacles on the other end. basically three extension cords in one run.
Multi ended extension cord

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:10 PM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does it exist


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rze View Post
Looking to find out is a cable exist that has at least 7 wires.....Looking to create a snake that has three plugs on one end associated with three receptacles on the other end. basically three extension cords in one run.
A piece of half-inch "seal tite" conduit with boxes on each end. You can pull the conductors in yourself, and terminate whatever connectors you need at the boxes.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Does it exist


RZE, how many times are you going to ask the same question? Multiple solutions have been provided here in the past threads you have started.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:37 PM   #6
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Does it exist


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
RZE, how many times are you going to ask the same question? Multiple solutions have been provided here in the past threads you have started.
LOL I didn't even realize it was the same poster!

I like the seal tight solution. I bet stranded would hold up better to extension cord type of use.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:58 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does it exist


Here ya go...

Belden 8628 7 conductor cable - 14 AWG

$1,730.57 (Per 500 ft. Coil)

http://www.alliedelec.com/Search/Pro...x?SKU=216-2398
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 10:42 PM   #8
Rze
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does it exist


My bad....i knew I had asked someone this question before....Wasn't till you pointed it out that I realized why it was so familiar!!! No need to get upset. Thanks for pointing me backwards!

Billy_bob.....holy cow!!!!!
Rze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 10:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does it exist


Well that is a start. Might want to contact Belden and ask if someone near you sells this by the foot.

http://www.belden.com
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 08:32 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Does it exist


They make 14/7NM
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 03:15 PM   #11
Advice worth 2 cents!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 229
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does it exist


Where do you want to use this cable? If a rubber extension cord will do, the stuff comes in any number of conductors (go to an electrical supply warehouse)
__________________
---pete
HandyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 03:22 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Does it exist


Quote:
Originally Posted by HandyPete View Post
Where do you want to use this cable? If a rubber extension cord will do, the stuff comes in any number of conductors (go to an electrical supply warehouse)

Guessing your refering to SJO cord.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 05:58 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does it exist


Lots of this stuff used in the entertainment industry, which is what you want it for. Check the link below or google "socopex cable" (a kind of connector). You can buy just the cable (commonly in 16, 14, or 12 guage) or many companies will make up whatever finished cable you want. This stuff is used for portable lighting because it is MUCH lighter than SJO cord.

http://www.globalspec.com/FeaturedPr...r_Veam/38952/1
garyoutwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 06:46 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Does it exist


Wow, completely forgot about socapex cable! That would be the way to go (if you can afford it) since most socapex cables I have seen will run 6 circuits.

BTW, 100' of socapex cable is NOT light! I work for a company that owns 10 100' socapex cables and an assortment of 50's and 25's.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:18 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does it exist


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
BTW, 100' of socapex cable is NOT light! I work for a company that owns 10 100' socapex cables and an assortment of 50's and 25's.
That's true, theatretech, but before this kind of cable, mults were often made of 'elevator hoist' cable. Much heavier, not much better than a hod of 12/3 sjo. If you work for a company doing that kind of work, you probably get to muscle around some lengths of 4/0 type W as well .

garyoutwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does this window exist? ClnlBrahm Building & Construction 4 09-19-2008 04:30 PM
need to find wall switch remote..does that exist? tarheelblue Electrical 7 09-05-2008 05:51 AM
Do these exist? (stone tiles that aren't square) joeyboy Flooring 3 04-11-2007 12:38 PM
Double-pole 3-way switch exist? bob12 Electrical 1 01-08-2006 11:02 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.