Does Every Metal Box Need To Be Grounded? - Electrical - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 09:26 AM   #46
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,047
Rewards Points: 2,892
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


The box cannot be bonded by the 6-32 if the device is grounded.

A device may be grounded if the box is grounded under certain conditions.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:32 AM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
I was wondering if every metal receptacle need to be grounded via a green ground screw screwed in a hole in the back and connected to the other ground wires coming into and out of the box, in addition to the ground terminal of the possible power outlet or light for which the box is used. Also, if the box is used only as a JB, does it still need to be grounded?

Thanks
I think all of his questions have been answered, but not in one post. I'll attempt to do that.

Quote:
I was wondering if every metal receptacle need to be grounded via a green ground screw screwed in a hole in the back and connected to the other ground wires coming into and out of the box
By receptacle, the OP meant box. It was also established that the ground/bond screw does not have to be green. It also is implied in the answers that it is no good to just put in a screw if you do not connect it back to the grounding conductor coming into the box. The question is, "Does every metal box need to be grounded via a screw in the hole in the back of the box?" For safety, yes.

Quote:
...in addition to the ground terminal of the possible power outlet or light for which the box is used.
If the "device yoke" is in contact with the metal box, then you probably do not need to run a ground wire to the device's ground screw. But if in doubt, running the extra conductor will not do any harm.

Quote:
Also, if the box is used only as a JB, does it still need to be grounded?
I would ground the junction box for the same reason as in question #1. If the bare hot wire comes in contact with the metal box, someone touching the box could receive a nasty shock. In the junction box, you'll wire nut the ground conductors anyway. Just add one more as a jumper/pigtail to the box's ground screw.

Advertisement

brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brgmgb For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (09-12-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't you connect Ground/Neutral bus bars on a sub secutanudu Electrical 42 11-07-2012 02:33 PM
Combining old wire to new Cossack Electrical 148 08-26-2012 02:56 PM
I feel dumb - how to attach something to metal Zephie General DIY Discussions 3 07-11-2012 07:37 AM
Replacing metal box caused issues rivers001 Electrical 28 03-07-2011 01:21 AM
Grounded electrode on water pipe TW Lucas Electrical 7 05-12-2008 12:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts