Does Every Metal Box Need To Be Grounded? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2012, 09:13 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluehawks View Post
It says in 250.126 that the terminal for the connection of the equipment grounding conductor shall be identified by one of the following:
1) A green, not readily removable terminal screw with a hexagonal head.
2) green, hexagonal, not readily removable terminal nut.
3) A green pressure wire connector. If the terminal for the grounding conductor is not visible, the conductor entrance hole shall be marked with the word Green or ground, the letters G or GR, a grounding symbol, or otherwise identified by a distinctive green color. If the terminal for the equipment grounding conductor is readily removable, the area adjacent to the terminal shall be similarly marked.
250.126 is for device terminals... not boxes... i.e, a receptacle, switch... etc...

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:17 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by parman View Post
ALL METAL boxes, conduit, etc used in an electrical system needs to be grounded. How you ground them is where it gets interesting.
I dislike this terminology, and hopefully it gets addressed in the future, what we are doing is BONDING... and should be treated as such.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:21 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I dislike this terminology, and hopefully it gets addressed in the future, what we are doing is BONDING... and should be treated as such.

All metal boxes are to be GROUNDED. You do that by BONDING the equipment GROUNDING conductor to the box.
parman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:26 PM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by parman View Post
All metal boxes are to be GROUNDED. You do that by BONDING the equipment GROUNDING conductor to the box.
Dude, you are bonding the boxes... that is the correct terminology...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:30 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Dude, you are bonding the boxes... that is the correct terminology...
Don't want to get into a P***ing contest.

You ground your box by bonding it.

Grounding is the act of connecting something to the equipment ground system.

The physical act of connecting something to the equipment ground system is bonding.
parman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:31 PM   #21
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by parman View Post
Don't want to get into a P***ing contest.

You ground your box by bonding it.

Grounding is the act of connecting something to the equipment ground system.

The physical act of connecting something to the equipment ground system is bonding.
Me neither... but bonding is what clears faults... not grounding.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 09-11-2012 at 09:34 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:52 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Me neither... but bonding is what clears faults... not grounding.
Do we need to start our own thread?

You cannot clear a fault unless you are grounded. You can bond all you like, but if the system is not grounded.....No fault clears.

Like I said previous. You ground your equipment by bonding it. These are two very distinct words with two very distinct meanings.

I am kind of agreeing with you. You seemed like you wanted to split hairs and that is what I am doing. I am splitting hairs with grounding and bonding terminology and I stand my original statement as being correct.

Do you agree with the terminology in my last post along with my description? If not can you explain, like I did in my last post, the difference besides just repeating "bonding, bonding, bonding".

I am more that willing to accept I am wrong if you can provide me with what the difference is?
parman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:52 PM   #23
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


I have to agree with stickyboy. You are bonding the box to the grounding conductor in the panel.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (09-11-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 09:53 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Grounding does nothing to clear faults. Noun vs verb thanks to NEC.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jlmran For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-12-2012), stickboy1375 (09-11-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 09:54 PM   #25
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by parman View Post
Do we need to start our own thread?

You cannot clear a fault unless you are grounded. You can bond all you like, but if the system is not grounded.....No fault clears.

Like I said previous. You ground your equipment by bonding it. These are two very distinct words with two very distinct meanings.

I am kind of agreeing with you. You seemed like you wanted to split hairs and that is what I am doing. I am splitting hairs with grounding and bonding terminology and I stand my original statement as being correct.

Do you agree with the terminology in my last post along with my description? If not can you explain, like I did in my last post, the difference besides just repeating "bonding, bonding, bonding".

I am more that willing to accept I am wrong if you can provide me with what the difference is?
Sure, start a thread, but I can tell you right now, you are using the definitions
incorrectly. just as the NEC leads you to.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:56 PM   #26
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
I have to agree with stickyboy. You are bonding the box to the grounding conductor in the panel.
should be ground(ed) conductor....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:59 PM   #27
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Here is the easiest way to show that your terminology is wrong, replace the word grounding with earth, and show me how that will clear a fault... Now, we bond everything to the ground(ed) (neutral) conductor to clear faults, not to the earth... the NEC needs to replace the wording of grounding with earth, and more people will understand the confusion.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:59 PM   #28
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Grounded, bonded, to the layman they are the same thing, but many electricians do not know the difference either.

The green wires you buy that comes with the screw is called a bond jumper, at least in my neck of the woods.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:08 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan
Grounded, bonded, to the layman they are the same thing, but many electricians do not know the difference either.

The green wires you buy that comes with the screw is called a bond jumper, at least in my neck of the woods.
Bond...James Bond.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:13 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

does every metal box need to be grounded?


"I have to agree with stickyboy. You are bonding the box to the grounding conductor in the panel."

I agree with this statement, except to say bonding the box to the equipment grounding conductor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
should be ground(ed) conductor....
I don't agree with this statement. The grounded conductor would be the "neutral". The "Neutral" or "Grounded conductor" is "White" wire of a 240/120V system. It would be a "Neutral" when it is shared by two Ungrounded conductors.

Advertisement

parman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't you connect Ground/Neutral bus bars on a sub secutanudu Electrical 42 11-07-2012 02:33 PM
Combining old wire to new Cossack Electrical 148 08-26-2012 02:56 PM
I feel dumb - how to attach something to metal Zephie General DIY Discussions 3 07-11-2012 07:37 AM
Replacing metal box caused issues rivers001 Electrical 28 03-07-2011 01:21 AM
Grounded electrode on water pipe TW Lucas Electrical 7 05-12-2008 12:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts