Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-20-2009, 08:18 PM   #16
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,841
Rewards Points: 38
Share |
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy2610 View Post
if the manufacturer specifies it, and you don't do it, you've voided the DW warranty.
I highly question this.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 08:19 AM   #17
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I highly question this.
Me too, most likely anything you read in a manual is just an opinion of the manufacture. And not actually part of the listing. sort of a CYA....
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 08:54 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Hey All, thanks for all your great response & feedback on this... I didn't realize there are such differing opinions on the topic. I was just looking for the "proper" way to do this as opposed to... "it's ok, but..."

It looks like Jamie is right in regards to the "manufactures specs". I stumbled upon a Frigidaire DW installation guide (see attached) and it does clearly states..

"The dishwasher operates on a 120 volt, 60 Hz electrical supply.
Provide a separate circuit with a fuse or circuit breaker rated for
at least 15 amps (20 amps if connected with disposer) but not
more than 20 amps."

Again... i do not own the dishwasher yet so I have no idea what brand i will end up with but, I assume most manufacturers would require a similar setup. So this leads me to assume that adding an outlet to this / although doable / would not be recommended as what ever is plugged into that outlet is unknown and "may" overload the circuit depending on it's draw. So.. with that said I may have to do without. I wish i found this forum before i started to run that wire!

OK.. now for a different question..

After reading the manufacturer spec / i noticed that these DW units are hard wired!?

So why did my electrician cap the line with an outlet as opposed to leaving just the cable?

This sucks as i dont think i have enough slack to hard wire this within the area specified by the manufacturer!

Do i have to open up this wall "AGAIN"!

I'm also concerned by the location of the electric on the wall as it does not line up with what is recommended (again see atached).
Does this need to be addressed as well / not much clearance their (2-3/4"?) / is that right?

This is becoming frustrating FAST!
Attached Images
   

Last edited by Casey_Oakland; 02-21-2009 at 09:08 AM.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 09:15 AM   #19
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


All appliances need a disconnect, a cord and plug meets this requirement, so just install a cord on the DW, I always install them in the sink cabinet.

Last edited by chris75; 02-21-2009 at 09:20 AM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 09:20 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


So by adding a cord i could just plug a dishwasher into an outlet like any other appliance?

Does it mater it's not located in the "gray area" as the spec sheet shows?

Freaking confused

Last edited by Casey_Oakland; 02-21-2009 at 09:22 AM.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 09:22 AM   #21
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Oakland View Post
You mean dish washer right ; )

So by adding a cord i could just plug a dishwasher into an outlet like any other appliance?

Does it mater it's not located in the "gray area" as the spec sheet shows?

Freaking confused
If the receptacle is not in the gray area, you'll probably have some issues... This is why I install them in the sink cabinet...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 09:27 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


crap!

1 step forward... 18 steps back!!

So to sum up / No extra outlet!
and now i have to move the existing DW outlet down!?

My head is going to blow up!
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 09:37 AM   #23
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


If it was easy, everyone would be doing it.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 09:45 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


true, true.

Thanks Chris for the help.
I'll grin and and bear it i guess

Not happy about it but at least i know it's done proper and will hopefully save extra work later when I begin the install.

Appreciated!

Last edited by Casey_Oakland; 02-21-2009 at 09:49 AM.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 10:28 AM   #25
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


The receptacle is typically installed in the adjacent cabinet (under sink) and is split... bottom switched for disposal and top always hot for dishwasher. A cord and plug is connected to the dishwasher (and disposal) and each is plugged into their respective receptacle.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 10:43 AM   #26
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
The receptacle is typically installed in the adjacent cabinet (under sink) and is split... bottom switched for disposal and top always hot for dishwasher. A cord and plug is connected to the dishwasher (and disposal) and each is plugged into their respective receptacle.
This is exactly what I just did for my partents a heavy duty p&s 20a with tab broken out top switched for disposal. Fed with a mwbc via thhn in smurf, neural pigtailed then to the outlet. I made a cord for the dw with 12 gage sjoow.
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 10:48 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Oakland View Post
So by adding a cord i could just plug a dishwasher into an outlet like any other appliance?

Does it mater it's not located in the "gray area" as the spec sheet shows?
If its not in the gray area the dishwasher will hit it
This could be slightly different for each dishwasher
I think the limit is a 6' cord on the dishwasher

You could still hardwire the DW in with a short piece of wire going into the outlet. I prefer cord & plug - much easier to move & disconnect power if you need to work on something or troubleshoot
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 10:55 AM   #28
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
If its not in the gray area the dishwasher will hit it
This could be slightly different for each dishwasher
I think the limit is a 6' cord on the dishwasher

You could still hardwire the DW in with a short piece of wire going into the outlet. I prefer cord & plug - much easier to move & disconnect power if you need to work on something or troubleshoot
It needs a means of disconnect, if it is hardwired, that is normally a switch. Snips don't count as a means of disconnect.



Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.

Last edited by jamiedolan; 02-21-2009 at 11:10 AM.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 11:19 AM   #29
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
It needs a means of disconnect, if it is hardwired, that is normally a switch. Snips don't count as a means of disconnect.



Jamie
The branch breaker is the means of disconnect.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 01:00 PM   #30
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
The branch breaker is the means of disconnect.
I see lots of hard wired DW's around here, just nobody installs the required breaker lock... I doubt they know its required.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microwave dedicated circuit? DIYGST Electrical 2 12-03-2008 02:08 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Dedicated circuit for washer/dryer TVC15 Electrical 4 07-27-2008 10:42 PM
Dedicated freezer circuit in basement? budde97 Electrical 5 02-15-2007 03:09 PM
dedicated circuit for smoke detectors wiggs Electrical 11 04-24-2006 08:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.