Does A Dishwasher Need It's Own Dedicated Circuit? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2009, 01:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


I have a dedicated 20 amp circuit in my kitchen meant for a dishwasher.

Can I run an electrical outlet off that same circuit? I live in Mass if that makes a difference in regards to code?

Ideally i would like to run an AC unit in the summer off that outlet but I can understand if this is not feasible.

Would it be better to jump off a counter top GFI to create the new outlet?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Advertisement

Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 02:56 PM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Oakland View Post
I have a dedicated 20 amp circuit in my kitchen meant for a dishwasher.

Can I run an electrical outlet off that same circuit? I live in Mass if that makes a difference in regards to code?

Ideally i would like to run an AC unit in the summer off that outlet but I can understand if this is not feasible.

Would it be better to jump off a counter top GFI to create the new outlet?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Counter top outlets are dedicated for the counter tops and you can not tap off of them for anything but the counter top.

It would almost surely overload the dishwasher circuit to have an AC unit and dishwasher on the same circuit. It is not required by code to have a dishwasher on it own circuit, but you must follow the manufactures directions for a legal install. I just installed a Dishwasher and it specifically stated it needed it's own 15A circuit.

Even a modern AC unit is a fairly heavy load, you really should run a new circuit from your panel to avoid tripping breakers and have a legal install.

Jamie

Advertisement

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 03:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Thanks Jamie for your reply!

I figured as much in regards to the AC unit : /
So i take it as long as I keep the load to standard appliances I should be ok?
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 03:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Mine is on with the garbage disposal, actually had no clue! Never have tripped the breaker. But I would just run 12/2 on a 20 amp breaker.


The counter top outlets cannot be tapped off by code.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 03:25 PM   #5
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Mine has d/w together with disposer and never been a problem since they rarely have a major draw of electric at the same time!
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 03:28 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


yeah..

Thats what i set up / jumping 12/2 off the originally dedicated 20 amp from the dishwasher for the new outlet.
Just wanted to double check if this is legit.

Running a new dedicated line isn't really an option for me.
If anything i would just scrap the outlet if not safe.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 04:32 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Here is the code section if anyone is really interested....


210.23 Permissible Loads
In no case shall the load exceed the branch-circuit ampere rating. An individual branch
circuit shall be permitted to supply any load for which it is rated. A branch circuit
supplying two or more outlets or receptacles shall supply only the loads specified
according to its size as specified in 210.23(A) through (D) and as summarized in 210.24
and Table 210.24.

(A) 15- and 20-Ampere Branch Circuits
A 15- or 20-ampere branch circuit shall be
permitted to supply lighting units or other utilization equipment, or a combination of
both, and shall comply with 210.23(A)(1) and (A)(2).


Exception: The small appliance branch circuits, laundry branch circuits, and bathroom
branch circuits required in a dwelling unit(s) by 210.11(C)(1), (C)(2), and (C)(3) shall
supply only the receptacle outlets specified in that section.

(1) Cord-and-Plug-Connected Equipment Not Fastened in Place
The rating of any
one cord-and-plug-connected utilization equipment not fastened in place shall not exceed
80 percent of the branch-circuit ampere rating.


(2) Utilization Equipment Fastened in Place
The total rating of utilization equipment
fastened in place, other than luminaires (lighting fixtures), shall not exceed 50 percent of
the branch-circuit ampere rating where lighting units, cord-and-plug-connected utilization

equipment not fastened in place, or both, are also supplied.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 04:40 PM   #8
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Here is the code section if anyone is really interested....

Chris, Question / clarification; If the Dishwasher Manufacture specifics the unit to have a dedicated 15a or 20a circuit, then you must comply with the manufactures directions regardless of available capacity based on 210.23, correct?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 04:43 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Can someone translate these codes for me?

Is this legit or not? Or does this all depend on the manufacturers specifics of a particular DW unit?
How would I find this out before hand? I dont own the DW yet..

This will go along way in advicing how this should be setup.

Much Thanks all!
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 04:44 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Chris, Question / clarification; If the Dishwasher Manufacture specifics the unit to have a dedicated 15a or 20a circuit, then you must comply with the manufactures directions regardless of available capacity based on 210.23, correct?

Jamie

Lots of debate with that one, because its probably not actually part of the listing of the equipment...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 06:43 PM   #11
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Oakland View Post
Can someone translate these codes for me?

Is this legit or not? Or does this all depend on the manufacturers specifics of a particular DW unit?
How would I find this out before hand? I dont own the DW yet..

This will go along way in advicing how this should be setup.

Much Thanks all!
Legit, maybe, I think we would all have to say it is going to be a call that your local building / electrical inspector would have to make when you take out a permit.

A good idea, no, as I mentioned at first, it is almost certain to be too heavy of a load if they both run at once.

Running a new circuit is really the best choice here. If you can't do it yourself, most of the time it's something an experienced individual / electrician could do within a couple hours.

In most cases, I could manage to get a new circuit to a new outlet just about anywhere in a home in half a day or less, very possibly with no damage to walls.

You may want to call an electrician, it may only be a couple hours of work for someone with the right tools.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 06:59 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


I really hate a dedicated circuit for something only used once a day
But I guess we have lots of dedicated circuits for similar items
AC's, fridge, tub heater etc

If you had a 20a circuit & the dishwasher used less then 10a (1200w) then you could have another outlet or device. I'd have to see what the DW pulled for power
Also check to see if the DW has a pre-heater
That is usually a good idea
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 07:04 PM   #13
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I really hate a dedicated circuit for something only used once a day
But I guess we have lots of dedicated circuits for similar items
AC's, fridge, tub heater etc
Why would you hate dedicated circuits where needed or beneficial? Cost is minimal.

I really hate breakers tripping. Dedicated circuits where appropriate are a wonderful way to eliminate many over current trips.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 07:07 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Cost is minimal, panel space is not minimal
With all the dedicated circuits you need a sub on almost every decent sized house these days.

They need bigger panels
Maybe they already make them?
I saw a huge one - Canadian installation I think
It was awesome!!!
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 08:55 PM   #15
Crazy, but lovable
 
flyboy2610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lincoln, Ne.
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit?


Even if code does specifically require that a dishwasher have it's own circuit, if the manufacturer specifies it, and you don't do it, you've voided the DW warranty.

Advertisement

flyboy2610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microwave dedicated circuit? DIYGST Electrical 2 12-03-2008 03:08 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Dedicated circuit for washer/dryer TVC15 Electrical 4 07-27-2008 11:42 PM
Dedicated freezer circuit in basement? budde97 Electrical 5 02-15-2007 04:09 PM
dedicated circuit for smoke detectors wiggs Electrical 11 04-24-2006 09:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts