Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2010, 08:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 32
Share |
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


Hello, I am redoing the lower level of my split level house, part of which is the family room. I want to reframe it, rewire, and then drywall it properly. No more faux wood paneling!

It was built in 1966, and they used 12-2 romex to wire it. However it doesn't quite look like the romex that I can buy in 2010. The black and white wire are 12 gauge, however the ground is a green wire which is 16 gauge. Not the bare 12 gauge wire used in today's romex.

What I tend to normally do is throw everything away, or to the scrap yard, and then start over. However then part of me thinks that's over kill and it would be just fine to reuse.

Any suggestions on if it's OK to reuse this wire? Thanks for reading and any input.
Attached Thumbnails
Does anybody reuse wire?-dsc00654.jpg  

jobblyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:03 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


No way I'd re-use that.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Mabc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Richmond, Indiana
Posts: 18
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


Get new wire!
Mabc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 32
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


Thanks for the advise! I was strongly leaning towards new wire, however I sometimes tend to overdue things so was not sure. A trip to the scrap yard then Home Deopt!
jobblyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:27 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


It is far less trouble and aggravation to just get new cable than try to mess around with old cable.

And it much quicker for us anyway.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:41 PM   #6
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


Can old cable be recycled? As I'm rewiring it seems like a waste to just throw it out.
RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:43 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RST View Post
Can old cable be recycled? As I'm rewiring it seems like a waste to just throw it out.
Oui you can able recycle at the salvage yard the amout they will pay ya in pounds of copper so the actual price will varies from each location and the day due the market price will fulacting so one day may have good price then next day may drop a bit so check around.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
RST (10-27-2010)
Old 10-26-2010, 10:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 32
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


yup, I rewired my both my bathrooms and my kitchen. It doesn't pay as much as taking in copper pipes to the scrap yard, but I received 17 bucks for something I was all too happy to throw away...
jobblyman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jobblyman For This Useful Post:
RST (10-27-2010)
Old 10-26-2010, 11:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,442
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


If you have ANY doubt,
dont reuse it.
due to the age alone,
I would not re use it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jobblyman View Post
Hello, I am redoing the lower level of my split level house, part of which is the family room. I want to reframe it, rewire, and then drywall it properly. No more faux wood paneling!

It was built in 1966, and they used 12-2 romex to wire it. However it doesn't quite look like the romex that I can buy in 2010. The black and white wire are 12 gauge, however the ground is a green wire which is 16 gauge. Not the bare 12 gauge wire used in today's romex.

What I tend to normally do is throw everything away, or to the scrap yard, and then start over. However then part of me thinks that's over kill and it would be just fine to reuse.

Any suggestions on if it's OK to reuse this wire? Thanks for reading and any input.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:49 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 32
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


When in doubt, throw it out!
jobblyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:07 AM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


Reduced ground wiring is no longer legal to use around here, (or anywhere I think). I DID re-use some of the 12g I had though, I just stripped out the white wire and colored it green to use as a ground.... It was for a light switch I added after the rough-in, but the inspector said it'd be fine.... WITH the 12g ground.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:59 AM   #12
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


If you're buying lots of wire, you may want to check pricing at a local electrical supply house. I just did that (for only 100' of 14/2) and it saved me like 5 bucks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jobblyman View Post
When in doubt, throw it out!
I thought it was "When in doubt, kick it out!"...
Wait, maybe that was recreational soccer...
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 08:04 AM   #13
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,770
Default

Does anybody reuse wire?


As I'm doing my rebuild, I've re-used wire for temporary outlets but not for circuits that are permanent.

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fanimation ceiling fan question: no blue wire from ceiling camrn2006 Electrical 8 03-07-2010 12:19 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 09:16 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.