Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-22-2010, 11:10 PM   #1
Always learning...

Share |

Do you think I should keep this breaker panel?

Greetings,

We recently bought a house in need of quite a bit of work. I took a few pictures below of the current panel in the basement. I found out that the exterior electric service was replaced about 3 years ago and upgraded from 100 to 200 amps. As you can see not many of the breaker spots are being filled. Over the next several months I plan to do a lot of re-wiring. We have fairly large bedrooms and 2 outlets on an 18' wall just doesn't cut it for me.

Basically I'd like to hear your opinion on whether or not I should keep this panel. For starters, I can't find the cover for it anywhere in the house - the only place I haven't looked yet is the attic, and that's highly unlikely. I have some background in electric and have read a few books and done some common electric work, but I don't have an extensive knowledge of what the 'premier' breaker box is to go with now a days. It seems people speak highly of Square-D. Well, any comments are greatly appreciated, thanks.

John
Attached Thumbnails
Do you think I should keep this breaker panel?-breakerbox1.jpg   Do you think I should keep this breaker panel?-breakerbox2.jpg   Do you think I should keep this breaker panel?-breakerbox3.jpg   Do you think I should keep this breaker panel?-breakerbox4.jpg  

fetzer85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 12:02 AM   #2
Journeyman Wireman

I don't see anything intrinsically wrong with the panel itself. Is it a Cutler-Hammer (Eaton) with type CH breakers? You might able to get a replacement door from an electrical supply house.